Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
toggle
May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#29809 - 06/22/03 04:33 AM ram question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
TN
i'm trying to upgrade my old computers memory, and it states in the manual that it needs 70ns ram, but all i can find on ebay is 60ns ram. so the question is can i put 60ns ram into a machine that asks for 70ns, or will it not work?


"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."
Top
Sponsored Links
#29810 - 06/22/03 05:29 AM Re: ram question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
Deviation187 Offline
Member
Deviation187 Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
L.A Cal.
it should work no? i mean me being the not so smart one.. thats just my opinion(to each his own) cuz i mean as long as its the right kind it needs it should.. im guessing it will only use the 60 though, but ok, lets leave it to the pros now.


"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/
Top
#29811 - 06/22/03 12:02 PM Re: ram question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
70 ns ram is older and slower memory than 60 ns.

you can find it on http://www.pricewatch.com


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net
Top
#29812 - 06/22/03 12:49 PM Re: ram question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
TN
i'll take that to mean that 60ns would not work in my system?


"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."
Top
#29813 - 06/22/03 02:45 PM Re: ram question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
If speed was all you had to worry about then there would be no problem. the faster ram would simply run at a slower pace. However, 70ns ram uses FastPage memory. 60ns uses EDO memory. If your motherboard only supports FPM memory then it is unlikely that it will properly support EDO. It may detect improper memory sizes and such.


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net
Top
#29814 - 06/22/03 04:20 PM Re: ram question
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo
BackSlash Offline
UGN's Resident Homo

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 599
TN
actually my motherboard supports both edo and fpm, just can't mix the two in the same bank.


"It's better to burn out, than to fade away."
Top

Member Spotlight
Gremelin

Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics45,692
Posts80,860
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 38,856
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, boa
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 4 guests and 2 spiders.
Latest News