Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#30280 - 05/15/03 08:41 PM playstaion/laptop
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 129
Drake Offline
UGN Member
Drake Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 129
Long Beach, California
I have a compaq presario 1200 laptop and the power is really skitzy and I don't need a laptop. I also have a playstation 1 that I hardly ever play, and even when I play it, I'd already stripped it down to the bare circuitry. So I want to take out the inside of the laptop and put the inside of the playstation in it instead. And it fits, I've done it. But I want to hook up the laptops screen to the playstation so the playstation comes up on the screen. I honestly hvae no idea if it's even possible. Is it? And if it is, where can I go to find more info on doing it?

The lover of inquiry must follow his beloved wherever it may lead him.
Sponsored Links
#30281 - 05/15/03 10:39 PM Re: playstaion/laptop
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
sinetific Offline

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
thats quite an itneresting idea there, i wish I had the stuff to do it.

OK, Your laptop uses an LCD screen which is a digital display using the PAL standard. Your playstations video output is analog, NTSC(National Television System Committee) standard. Now, there is two ways two ways to do this, with out even looking i think converting the NTSC output from your playstation back to digital for your LCD screen would be easiest, even though it would be bulkier requiring room for the extra hardware. The other way would be to route the digital video data from the Playstation motherboard directly to the LCDs digital input bypassing the digital to analog converter used by the playstation. This method would result in better, faster, and cleaner video but there is a lot of unknowns with this method.
1 if the formats are even the same.
2 you need the pinouts both for the D/A converter and LCD so you know which wire to jump to where.
3 you could possibly need additional circuitry to control voltage levels
4 the electronic knowledge to do it.

if you can take a picture of the connector to your LCD screen or describe it. tell me the number of wires and all of the technical details you can. You can do a google search for NTSC to PAL converters see if you find anything to suit your needs, its really hard for me to say what your needs are and recomend something to you.

well I hope this gives you some ideas and understanding.


Member Spotlight

Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,194
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 35,733
Gremelin 7,194
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Herbert_Sherbert, codemauve, Lillysdragon1984, Brewwit, Suri John
2157 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 0 guests and 2 spiders.
Latest News