Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#35418 - 05/19/04 07:20 AM hdtv problem  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 56
chazman Offline
Junior Member
chazman  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 56
coolville
i have a hdtv 47"THe problem is as follows. The TVs are HDTV, they MUST have Component cables going into the TV to get the 480p resolution. My recording gear will only take composite or S-Video signal. The TV will not send a signal out if the source is component. I need a way to split the signal before it goes into the TV and convert it to either S-Video or composite. So I have component going to the TV and composite to the recorders


~MY GENIUS IS YOUR SUPIDIDY~

Your gods may come and go and last for eons and eons but i will be here for ever


chaz
Sponsored Links
#35419 - 05/19/04 07:59 PM Re: hdtv problem  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
Buy a signal processor. I actually work in this field, building cable(s-video, component) for higher end system, hdtv, and all of that. You need a processor to convert the signal from s-video to component or vice-versa. The signals are completely different.

#35420 - 05/20/04 07:13 AM Re: hdtv problem  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 56
chazman Offline
Junior Member
chazman  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 56
coolville
Well, I am looking at a hdtv capture card that works under linux, but I am interested in your solution. Tell me more about this signal processor.


~MY GENIUS IS YOUR SUPIDIDY~

Your gods may come and go and last for eons and eons but i will be here for ever


chaz
#35421 - 05/20/04 07:55 AM Re: hdtv problem  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 56
chazman Offline
Junior Member
chazman  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 56
coolville
any info like links or anythin pics watever


~MY GENIUS IS YOUR SUPIDIDY~

Your gods may come and go and last for eons and eons but i will be here for ever


chaz
#35422 - 05/20/04 08:49 AM Re: hdtv problem  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
A preprocessor or audio video processor is usually for high end home theater systems. I dont know how much money you have available or are willing to spend or what type of quality you are looking for, but this will preserve the high quality resolution(check the max/output resolution of the processor) while converting it. They can be very expensive or a few hundred bucks depending on what you are looking for.

Just do a search on google for "s-video component processor" or "s-video component convert".
You'll come up with something like this or this . If you don't want to go that route there are actually many solutions to your problem. Unfortunately all of them involve spending money. (unless there is a way to make your tv output through s-video hooked up by component that your not aware of.)

Sponsored Links

Global Moderator  Gremelin 

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics47,470
Posts82,640
Average Daily Posts8
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,634
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)