Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#38817 - 03/20/04 07:27 AM Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
Maryland
Microsoft's Service Pack 2 for XP will focus on e-mail security, memory protection, browsing security, and network protection. One default SP2 will have for Internet Explorer is a pop-up blocker.

A test version of SP 2 called Release Candidate 1 (RC1) has undergone beta-testing and will be available Friday via a technical preview program. Feedback is wanted before Microsoft rolls out a Release Candidate 2 version.

The final release of SP2 will be sometime before the middle of this year. Pop-up blocking is already on RC1 which is meant for IT professionals to test. Microsoft says that average consumers won't be asked to download this preliminary version.

Source

Sponsored Links
#38818 - 03/20/04 08:40 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,197
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,197
Likes: 11
Portland, OR; USA
man, Mozilla needs one ... Shit and i just ordered my update disk from microshaft...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#38819 - 03/20/04 09:09 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
Maryland
Mozilla has one.. Mozilla Firebird has one too.

#38820 - 03/20/04 12:22 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,197
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,197
Likes: 11
Portland, OR; USA
Then why in the fuck does my mozilla have popups ;x


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#38821 - 03/20/04 12:39 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
Maryland
I never said it was good, I just said it has it.

http://mozilla.org/products/mozilla1.x/
Quote:

Popup blocker lets you surf the web without intrusion. Advanced popup blocker notifies you when popups are blocked. You can also block pop-ups on a site per site basis.
http://mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/#popup-blocking

Quote:

Popup Blocking
Firefox stops annoying popup windows dead in their tracks. Experience the web as it was supposed to be - peaceful, convenient, accessible.
You can try this
http://toolbar.google.com/

I use Norton internet security and I never see pop-ups.

Sponsored Links
#38822 - 03/20/04 07:31 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster
jonconley  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
Merrill, IA, USA
I have never had any popup issues using mozilla firefox version .8, or many of the previous versions (whatever they may have been called at the time)

Also let me block/allow images and popups on a site specific basis

#38823 - 03/20/04 09:10 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
Google toolbar works like a charm, so does the norton, i use both and have not seen a pop up in a veryu long time.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#38824 - 03/21/04 03:00 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,449
IceMyst Offline
UGN Elite Poster
IceMyst  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,449
Where ever Gizmo is
funny how gizmo gets pop-ups on his mozilla but i get none on mine.... he he he


*Hell hath no fury like a womens anger and damn be the fool who gets in her way*

Donate to the "Baby Trey's Digital Camera" fund here .
#38825 - 03/21/04 05:13 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 3
Maryland
Might I sugest your mozilla pop-up blocker has been dissabled. Or maybe you have some ad ware running. Maybe is was dissabled by some nasty malware.


Member Spotlight
Crime
Crime
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics33,739
Posts68,911
Average Daily Posts2
Members2,160
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
adidas zx flux femme
by Meyershello on 01/17/17 03:43 AM
adidas zx 700 baratas
by Meyershello on 01/17/17 03:43 AM
nike air pegasus 89 baratas
by Meyershello on 01/17/17 03:36 AM
adidas superstar dame sort
by Meyershello on 01/17/17 03:33 AM
Blackbeard.....
by Gremelin on 01/14/17 07:03 PM
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,864
Gremelin 7,197
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 3
Black Beard Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
fleshwound Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 2
Gremelin Likes: 12
Ice Likes: 1
ninjaneo Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
fleshwound Likes: 1
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)