Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#38817 - 03/20/04 07:27 AM Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
Microsoft's Service Pack 2 for XP will focus on e-mail security, memory protection, browsing security, and network protection. One default SP2 will have for Internet Explorer is a pop-up blocker.

A test version of SP 2 called Release Candidate 1 (RC1) has undergone beta-testing and will be available Friday via a technical preview program. Feedback is wanted before Microsoft rolls out a Release Candidate 2 version.

The final release of SP2 will be sometime before the middle of this year. Pop-up blocking is already on RC1 which is meant for IT professionals to test. Microsoft says that average consumers won't be asked to download this preliminary version.

Source

Sponsored Links
#38818 - 03/20/04 08:40 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
man, Mozilla needs one ... Shit and i just ordered my update disk from microshaft...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#38819 - 03/20/04 09:09 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
Mozilla has one.. Mozilla Firebird has one too.

#38820 - 03/20/04 12:22 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Then why in the fuck does my mozilla have popups ;x


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#38821 - 03/20/04 12:39 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
I never said it was good, I just said it has it.

http://mozilla.org/products/mozilla1.x/
Quote:

Popup blocker lets you surf the web without intrusion. Advanced popup blocker notifies you when popups are blocked. You can also block pop-ups on a site per site basis.
http://mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/#popup-blocking

Quote:

Popup Blocking
Firefox stops annoying popup windows dead in their tracks. Experience the web as it was supposed to be - peaceful, convenient, accessible.
You can try this
http://toolbar.google.com/

I use Norton internet security and I never see pop-ups.

Sponsored Links
#38822 - 03/20/04 07:31 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster
jonconley  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
Merrill, IA, USA
I have never had any popup issues using mozilla firefox version .8, or many of the previous versions (whatever they may have been called at the time)

Also let me block/allow images and popups on a site specific basis

#38823 - 03/20/04 09:10 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
Google toolbar works like a charm, so does the norton, i use both and have not seen a pop up in a veryu long time.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#38824 - 03/21/04 03:00 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,449
IceMyst Offline
UGN Elite Poster
IceMyst  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,449
Where ever Gizmo is
funny how gizmo gets pop-ups on his mozilla but i get none on mine.... he he he


*Hell hath no fury like a womens anger and damn be the fool who gets in her way*

Donate to the "Baby Trey's Digital Camera" fund here .
#38825 - 03/21/04 05:13 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
Might I sugest your mozilla pop-up blocker has been dissabled. Or maybe you have some ad ware running. Maybe is was dissabled by some nasty malware.


Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics47,469
Posts82,639
Average Daily Posts8
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,633
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)