Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#50707 - 04/07/10 12:17 AM ddr2 ram  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member
Artic Warrior  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
My friend just gave me some ram.

2x1gb of ddr2,Kingston, 667
1.8v

I thought it would be as easy as putting them into the empty slots. SO I did, next to my corsair 2x1gb ones and turned the pc on. All I got was a continuous beep. So I pulled out all the ram and ut one in at a time, tried some combos, and nothing but a continuous beep sound when I use one/both of the new ones.

The kingstons are sitting on my desk atm. Not sure why it didn't work.

Thinking, the ram is bust, or I have to change voltage settings?

note: There was some yogurt on the ram when he gave it to me but I removed it carefully and it looks fine. I thought ram was better then that.


Sponsored Links
#50710 - 04/07/10 01:27 AM Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Artic Warrior]  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Well, it depends on what the motherboard supports... What model/brand of motherboard (or system) is it?

It's probably that the ram speed is too slow to be supported by the motherboard


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#50726 - 04/08/10 01:13 PM Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Gremelin]  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member
Artic Warrior  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
It's an Asus P5N32-e sli Plus

As far as I remember it could support DDR2 800/667/533.


#50733 - 04/09/10 03:32 AM Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Artic Warrior]  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Quote:
Support for up to 8GB of DDR2-533, DDR2-667 or DDR2-800MHz memory, with additional support for NVIDIA SLI-Ready Memory up to 1200MHz;


What processor do you have? lol


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#50796 - 04/19/10 11:47 PM Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Gremelin]  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member
Artic Warrior  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
E6850 @3GHz. Also something strange happened. I'll post in my other current active thread.


Sponsored Links

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics46,798
Posts81,968
Average Daily Posts11
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,962
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)