Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ddr2 ram #50707
04/06/10 05:17 PM
04/06/10 05:17 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
A
Artic Warrior Offline OP
UGN Member
Artic Warrior  Offline OP
UGN Member
A

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
My friend just gave me some ram.

2x1gb of ddr2,Kingston, 667
1.8v

I thought it would be as easy as putting them into the empty slots. SO I did, next to my corsair 2x1gb ones and turned the pc on. All I got was a continuous beep. So I pulled out all the ram and ut one in at a time, tried some combos, and nothing but a continuous beep sound when I use one/both of the new ones.

The kingstons are sitting on my desk atm. Not sure why it didn't work.

Thinking, the ram is bust, or I have to change voltage settings?

note: There was some yogurt on the ram when he gave it to me but I removed it carefully and it looks fine. I thought ram was better then that.


Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Artic Warrior] #50710
04/06/10 06:27 PM
04/06/10 06:27 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
Portland, OR; USA
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Portland, OR; USA
Well, it depends on what the motherboard supports... What model/brand of motherboard (or system) is it?

It's probably that the ram speed is too slow to be supported by the motherboard


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Gremelin] #50726
04/08/10 06:13 AM
04/08/10 06:13 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
A
Artic Warrior Offline OP
UGN Member
Artic Warrior  Offline OP
UGN Member
A

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
It's an Asus P5N32-e sli Plus

As far as I remember it could support DDR2 800/667/533.


Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Artic Warrior] #50733
04/08/10 08:32 PM
04/08/10 08:32 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Likes: 11
Portland, OR; USA
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,203
Portland, OR; USA
Quote:
Support for up to 8GB of DDR2-533, DDR2-667 or DDR2-800MHz memory, with additional support for NVIDIA SLI-Ready Memory up to 1200MHz;


What processor do you have? lol


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Gremelin] #50796
04/19/10 04:47 PM
04/19/10 04:47 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
A
Artic Warrior Offline OP
UGN Member
Artic Warrior  Offline OP
UGN Member
A

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 478
My room
E6850 @3GHz. Also something strange happened. I'll post in my other current active thread.




Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,203
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics33,680
Posts68,696
Average Daily Posts0
Members2,168
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Blackbeard.....
by Gremelin. 10/03/18 07:02 PM
my old account still exists!
by Crime. 08/10/18 02:47 PM
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 41,392
Gremelin 7,203
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 3
Black Beard Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Dartur Likes: 1
fleshwound Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 2
Girlie Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 14
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.0