Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#8150 - 04/11/02 02:52 AM Java & WindowsME  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17
WarEagle Offline
Junior Member
WarEagle  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17
Is there anyone who can tell me how to set command path on WinME if I am using version
jdk1.2.2
I cannot run the javac.exe file without having to type the path everytime
\jdk1.2.2\bin
Has anyone encountered the same problem?
I am new to computers all together, so if this is a stupid question...please bare w/ me.

Sponsored Links
#8151 - 04/20/02 11:05 AM Re: Java & WindowsME  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
Windows 98 and Windows 95 - To set the PATH permanently, open the AUTOEXEC.BAT file and add or change the PATH statement as follows:

Start the system editor. Choose "Start", "Run" and enter sysedit, then click OK. The system editor starts up with several windows showing. Go to the window that is displaying AUTOEXEC.BAT.

Look for the PATH statement. (If you don't have one, add one.) If you're not sure where to add the path, add it to the right end of the PATH. For example, in the following PATH statement, we have added the bin directory at the right end:

PATH C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\JDK1.2.2\BIN

Capitalization doesn't matter. The PATH can be a series of directories separated by semi-colons ( ;). Microsoft Windows searches for programs in the PATH directories in order, from left to right. You should only have one bin directory for the Java 2 SDK in the path at a time (those following the first are ignored), so if one is already present, you can update it to 1.2.2.

To make the path take effect in the current Command Prompt window, execute the following:
C:> c:\autoexec.bat

To find out the current value of your PATH, to see if it took effect, at the command prompt, type:
C:> path


It's all in the included documentation


Member Spotlight
Crime
Crime
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics47,517
Posts82,687
Average Daily Posts7
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,681
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)