Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#8208 - 03/15/02 07:39 AM graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
PolPot Offline
Junior Member
PolPot  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
Cambodia
Ok, I know you can install 2 graphics card on 1 computer. My original graphics card is intergrated, it's one of those crappy intel graphic i810 cards. What I want to know is, if I can install a seperate and better graphic card, with out messing anything up?


It's a holiday in cambodia...
Sponsored Links
#8209 - 03/16/02 05:15 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
hKzKnight Offline
Member
hKzKnight  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
LAN
You are trying to just get a new graphics card, correct? Like for example buy a GeForce 4. All you need to do is open the PC. Install and screw in. Plug the monitor to the new graphics card, boot pc up. Then install the drivers. That is all you need to do. Just ignore the old monitor port... Does that answer it for you? If not I will be back or feel free to email me.


-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"
#8210 - 03/16/02 05:20 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 20
B.B.Gambini Offline
Junior Member
B.B.Gambini  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 20
fort Knox
u might also have to Disable ur on board Video card in BIOS


"if murder makes me richer than i'll be a killer"
#8211 - 03/16/02 05:30 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
hKzKnight Offline
Member
hKzKnight  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
LAN
True, however most new systems (late 2000 to now) will not need it to be disabled, or you can disable it in windows/linux. Try without disabling in the bios first, then if you need do it. Let Gambini and I know if you need anything. Thanx :+)


-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"
#8212 - 03/16/02 05:59 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
olosoft Offline
Member
olosoft  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
.
god****it. i just wrote like a ****in essay on this same exact topic before gizzy reset the board.

basicaly, you need to find a video card that uses different resources than the intergrated one. which shouldnt be that hard to find since your current card in built in to the mobo and most likely has its own resources.

also, since you have an intergrated card, you also can buy a dual head card, with output to two monitors from the same card. then you will be able to output three different to three different monitors.

Sponsored Links
#8213 - 03/16/02 06:10 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
/me falls on floor laughing

sthu olo


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#8214 - 03/16/02 06:15 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
PolPot Offline
Junior Member
PolPot  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
Cambodia
Quote:
You are trying to just get a new graphics card, correct? Like for example buy a GeForce 4


That card is a bit passed my budget :\, but yeah your correct.
I should have my card sometime next week, so I'll let you know then. Thanks for the help guys.


It's a holiday in cambodia...
#8215 - 03/19/02 04:34 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
hKzKnight Offline
Member
hKzKnight  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
LAN
Sorry didn't get back to ya. Well how much are you willing to spend? GF4 is expensive, yet you can get GeForce 3 with packed power (more then what use to have) and be less expensive. For around $130 you can get the Verto GeForce4 MX 420 AGP. 64MB memory interface with a 166MHz (DDR) clock rate and a 2.7 GB/sec. memory bandwidth. Verto GeForce4 MX 440 AGP, $180. It is a bit better. Take your pick. A lot others out there. Radeon from ATI is nice, but I personally like Geforce, a lot of nice choices and pleased with them in my tests.

It's a good deal


-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"
#8216 - 03/27/02 05:44 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
Deviation187 Offline
Member
Deviation187  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
L.A Cal.
Oh so this is where you ended up going PolPot, well since you all helped out everything turned out fine for him, pretty good, just had to open up the computer screw it in, well exactly hKzKnight said, in behalve of him ill say thanx, but now i need to save up and buy one myself, because that thing is really good


"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/
#8217 - 04/23/02 11:40 PM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto  Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
You should get a radeon, they work very nice... thats what i use.

Another question....

If I have my radeon (AGP) could I buy another lil video card to use along with it? I would like to have dual monitors.


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead
Sponsored Links
#8218 - 04/24/02 06:50 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
yeh you can, but i woudlnt reccomend trying to use 2 radeons...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#8219 - 04/25/02 01:11 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto  Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
I wasnt thinking of using 2 radeons, just my radeon and a cheap pci card for an extra monitor.


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead
#8220 - 04/25/02 01:41 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 506
Crime Offline
UGN Super Poster
Crime  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 506
Likes: 1
SC, usa
are you trying to run dual monitors ?

#8221 - 04/25/02 07:29 PM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto  Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
Im thinking about it but i wanna know if anyone has tried it or if it works if i Use my AGP Radeon (main monitor) with a Cheaper PCI (2nd Monitor). If anyone knows if it will work or anything please reply or email me. thanks


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead
#8222 - 04/25/02 07:45 PM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
hKzKnight Offline
Member
hKzKnight  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
LAN
Try it, I know I tried my main vid card that was part of the mother board then my radeon, it didn't allow it. It was pick one or the other. Worth a shot... They do have special switchers out there for more then one monitor... Can try that... Also there use to be something called SLI mode, you attached the same video card to each other and it had dual power etc... Was sick ****, not many cards do that... I don't know of any really, however 3dfx (RIP) had that perfect with the Voodoo2.


-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"
#8223 - 04/25/02 10:31 PM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto  Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
Yeah, my friend is running dual voodoo 2s. I use to have a on board card and ran a pci voodoo 3 awhile back, it worked fine. But i dunno if AGP will work with an PCI. I might try it, thanks anyways.


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead
#8224 - 04/26/02 06:30 PM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
hKzKnight Offline
Member
hKzKnight  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
LAN
Worth a try. Come back on the deal (worked etc... did it blow up LOL j/k).


-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"
#8225 - 04/28/02 08:23 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
olosoft Offline
Member
olosoft  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 143
.
uhm, if you mean using an agp in a pci, no that wont work, but if you mean one pci and one agp, then yes, as long as their resources dont conflict. anyway, if all you want to do is have dual monitors (like i have :D) just get a dual head graphics card. sell your current current card on ebay, youll make a ****load of money since people buy things there for twice their worth, and i recommend getting the matrox G550 Millenium dual head, for just over 100$. here, i even found one for you http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2019751440 buy it now for 107$. very nice and simple to use. and you can configure the second monitor or be an extension of the first, both show the same thing, one zoom and follow the mouse of the other, or use it just to play video and dvd. also, maxtor makes cards with quad output which are going for around 250$ http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2019843866

#8226 - 04/28/02 11:20 PM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Moffesto Offline
UGN Supporter
Moffesto  Offline
UGN Supporter

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 730
Kuntucky
good idea, o well, i might try using a pci along with my agp, if it dont work... screw it. I like my video card to much. Mine cost about 189$. Works wonders, 64mb DDR ATI Radeon.


2 people can keep a secret as long as one is dead
#8227 - 04/29/02 01:14 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
those are ****in hott


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#8228 - 05/01/02 02:25 AM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
hKzKnight Offline
Member
hKzKnight  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 626
LAN
**** that, the Industrial graphic cards are sick. Can we afford them, prob not. Do we wish, yes we do. Is any fid card with 128mb DDR ram sexy? YES, YES IT IS! Mmmm sexy


-hKzKnight
"The ghost... Was never there and you'll never see me"
#8229 - 05/31/02 06:12 PM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 9
caffeine Offline
Junior Member
caffeine  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 9
First, check if your computer has an onboard AGP slot. (20 bucks sais your dell doesnt)If it doesnt go out and get a geforce 4 mx PCI. It is in the 150 range. Personnally I like my geforce 4 ti4600 w/ dual DVI outputs hooked up to my 21" trinitron and 19" trinitron. But thats just me I gues...

#8230 - 06/03/02 01:20 PM Re: graphics card question...  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
Deviation187 Offline
Member
Deviation187  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 536
L.A Cal.
Can, we close this topic already its old, he even already bought his card like over a month ago.


"Hmm, they have the internet on computers now." - Homer Simpson
http://wired.promodtecnologies.com/

Member Spotlight
Crime
Crime
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics47,517
Posts82,687
Average Daily Posts7
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,681
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)