Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#8874 - 08/04/04 04:31 AM where do i login  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
hacker45 Offline
Junior Member
hacker45  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
ny
If i cant login in ms-dos then where do i login?

Sponsored Links
#8875 - 08/04/04 05:27 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster
Ghost  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Likes: 1
Wisconsin
Um...huh? Login to what? What are you talking about?

#8876 - 08/04/04 07:50 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
hacker45 Offline
Junior Member
hacker45  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
ny
when i type logon in ms-dos it says you cant login in ms-dos mode

#8877 - 08/04/04 10:35 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Excuse me for my bluntness; what the fuck are you trying to do?


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#8878 - 08/04/04 11:48 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
And why are you trying to do it in ms-dos?

Sponsored Links
#8879 - 08/04/04 07:30 PM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
ha ha ha ha ha ha I have never heard of login into ms-dos.

Okay guy,

first what version of windows are we talking about?

Second if you have a box running ms-dos 6.0 and below what are you trying to do.


My New site OpenEyes
#8880 - 08/04/04 07:44 PM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
Okay I had to try this,

I typed login into ms-dos(well into the cmd line in win2k)

I get
Quote:

c:\Path\to\profile>login
*================================================================
Welcome to Microsoft Telnet Server
*================================================================
c:\Path\to\profile>


My New site OpenEyes
#8881 - 08/05/04 01:17 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
Yeh, I got the same in XP. Didn't post it though cause I had no friggin idea what the hell was going on. Mildly interesting.

#8882 - 08/05/04 07:19 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
hacker45 Offline
Junior Member
hacker45  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
ny
i have a microsoft millenium if i type net help it brings up alot of stuff and theres a net logon but when i type it it says you cannot do this within an ms-dos windows

#8883 - 08/05/04 07:20 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
hacker45 Offline
Junior Member
hacker45  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
ny
also when i type in net use \\ip ad
it says the syntax is incorrect what does that mean?

Sponsored Links
#8884 - 08/05/04 07:22 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
hacker45 Offline
Junior Member
hacker45  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
ny
is it my comp that wont let net use work

#8885 - 08/05/04 09:33 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Quote:
Originally posted by hacker45:
i have a microsoft millenium if i type net help it brings up alot of stuff and theres a net logon but when i type it it says you cannot do this within an ms-dos windows
You need to either Upgrade to XP or Downgrade to 98. M$ has even publicly stated that ME was a total mistake.

Quote:
Originally posted by hacker45:
also when i type in net use \\ip ad
it says the syntax is incorrect what does that mean?
It looks like you're trying to exploit Window$ file sharing; note that the IP must have open shares and i don't believe they can be accessed liek that through dos.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#8886 - 08/05/04 10:52 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
hacker45 Offline
Junior Member
hacker45  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
ny
ok ty i knew it had to do with the comp.

#8887 - 08/10/04 03:46 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
Red Mage Offline
Member
Red Mage  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 209
here.
Don't get 98 or XP, get 2000. It has security (unlike 98) and it works (unlike XP)


Those who say do not know.
Those who know do not say.
#8888 - 08/10/04 03:55 AM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
?? I'm running Windows XP SP1 right now; works a hell of a lot better than my 2000 pro install


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#8889 - 10/01/04 05:16 PM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
trytryagain Offline
Junior Member
trytryagain  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
China
i dont exactly know what you say too


Never too old to learn!
#8890 - 10/02/04 09:56 PM Re: where do i login  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 135
? Offline
UGN Member
?  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 135
don't like postin in ancient topics but since this guy already brought it, and nobody really answered it, here it goes.

Basically the "login" command in the command prompt executes the Login.cmd file which is in the system32 folder. Since MS got rid of the GUI telnet client (windows 98), this is how your supposed to use it now. But you can edit the Login.cmd file to execute any telnet client you want. Also you can change the banner it display and other stuff. Open login.cmd in Notepad and play around with it.


I KNOW EVERYTHING. ASK ME.

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics46,798
Posts81,968
Average Daily Posts11
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,962
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)