Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#8903 - 05/04/03 11:33 PM First Post  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5
Masked_Bandit Offline
Junior Member
Masked_Bandit  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5
I have watching the board for some time and finally decided to register. I have learned a lot just from reading the posts from others. I am fairly new to the computer world but have been in the telecom arena for some time and now am getting heavily into lan's and wan's but anyway I do have a question I would like some help with. I have a system I am trying to rlogin into. I understand that this should be similar to telnet. I have not been able to figure out how to get this to work.In the area I am trying to do this from I do not have access to any OS except windows which as far as I can tell does not support Rlogin sessions from command line. I have found some shareware clients and I have also heard that procomm (which I have) supports rlogin through windows but cannot figure out how to get either to work. Any help will be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
#8904 - 05/05/03 03:35 AM Re: First Post  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster
jonconley  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
Merrill, IA, USA
http://www.openssh.org/

I would use SSH instead. Why? Because everytime I have asked or seen someone ask about rlogin, it generally goes off into using SSH instead for security reasons.

So I suggest trying that, depending on the linux you are trying to connect to, it may already have OpenSSH installed. If not, all the details are at the above site.

Now, for rlogin, if you STILL want to use it, check the ~/.rhosts file:
Quote:

hostname username
Also make sure you port 513 is open.

I haven't used ProComm for rlogin/ssh before, so not sure how it works. I use OpenSSH client on Linux, and PuTTy on Windows.
I am a newbie, so I hope this is right. I am sure ppl will correct if not.

#8905 - 05/07/03 01:44 AM Re: First Post  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5
Masked_Bandit Offline
Junior Member
Masked_Bandit  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure if this machine supports anything besides rlogin. In PuTTy how would you start a Rlogin session? Say to ip address 10.1.1.1. I think I can get PuTTy for free at least for a demo period but when researching it, it seemed that it's purpose was to get into cell phones.

#8906 - 05/07/03 01:57 AM Re: First Post  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
putty is free. As for using it for rlogin sessions, I don't know, I don't have a copy with me.

#8907 - 05/07/03 01:59 AM Re: First Post  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
You get PuTTY here

It's a radio button you check on the initial window. Really simple, you can't miss it.



Infinite

Sponsored Links

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics46,786
Posts81,956
Average Daily Posts11
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,950
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)