Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#9633 - 12/12/04 11:59 AM FTP  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
I want to set up an FTP server from my home computer, it will only be about 2 gigs. What do i need to do. Tuts or Links would be great.
thanks


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
Sponsored Links
#9634 - 12/12/04 01:04 PM Re: FTP  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
well, you'll need a daemon (nix) or a program (win) to run as a server, myself the only windows program that i reccommend is BulletProof FTPd.


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#9635 - 12/12/04 07:55 PM Re: FTP  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
get a Linux distro with apache in the install. Install very few if any graphical enviroments, Install apache, (Some have some sort of cpanel like webmin) turn on FTPd and shut all services you do not need off. Make sure to kill telnet. use ssh instead.

Be sure to install a couple languages though. I recomend PHP. then you can write some scripts to ease your work.

http://www.apache.org/

check it out, read up. And if you are going to do that, you might as well set up a mail server.


My New site OpenEyes
#9636 - 12/12/04 08:34 PM Re: FTP  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
OK maybe i'm retarded (shut up) but can I just use a crap comp with enough HD space to run the I don't want to say site, but that is what it would be, just plug it into my router leave it on and put whatever i need to on there? I am also looking at something that turns your google webspace into your own personal ftp so to speak.

Gmail Drive

OK so i found something about using google as a storage site, not exactly ftp, although you could theoretically load up the site with whatever files you need to have available and then give your friend your info, and they could log in and down load it. This presents a couple problems in itself. I used my lat invite to setup a second account. aSo in case i decided to use this I wouldn't have to worry about someone having acess tro my private emails. But, my name is still attached to the account so if someone got pissed at you they could log in and send email from your account. So i need to find a better way, but this will work for me for now.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#9637 - 12/13/04 01:42 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
That is intresting, but I would not fuck with it. It would no doubt make the downloads much slower than a regular FTP server.

I am not sure your friend will be able to access the FTP server if it is behind a router. This presents an IP issue. I have no doubt there is some way, but I never figured it out.

As far as using a crap computer. That is what most of us do. A 486 would work.

But pentium II would be ideal. I am telling you.. Linux distro with apache is your easiest bet. You could set up multiple FTP logins to various directories. In other words you could have your own private FTP folder and your friends get thier own. It really isn't that hard to set up. Might take you a whole 30 minutes.

I recomend Linux Mandrake if you are new to it.

http://linuxiso.org/distro.php?distro=29

Some prefer Red hat fedora
http://linuxiso.org/distro.php?distro=64


My New site OpenEyes
Sponsored Links
#9638 - 12/13/04 01:53 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland


My New site OpenEyes
#9639 - 12/13/04 02:50 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
That's why I like you, always got the answer, Thank You spanky. That being said if i am on cable, how do i split the connectionm without having to buy another modem??


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#9640 - 12/13/04 04:27 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
http://www.techimo.com/forum/showthread.php?t=46958&page=2

I think the above link might shed some light on getting your FTP server up and working through a router. I just briefly skimed it. It is a post on another forum, but relavent to this post so please anyone who can do not lock this topic or delete this post.

It talks about using a netgear router, but I think it will still work for you from what I read. Just to be sure, what router brand and modle do you have?


My New site OpenEyes
#9641 - 12/13/04 04:39 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
D Link DI-514, I know cheap but it works


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#9642 - 12/13/04 05:09 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
Read these articles. I am not sure yet if your router will let you but you need to look into port forwarding. You want to forward port 21.

http://www.homenethelp.com/web/explain/port-forwarding-dmz.asp


Ha pay dirt
http://www.portforward.com/dlink/di-514-portforwarding.htm

http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=1005&question=port+forward#604

That should get you at the very least in the right direction to setting this up behind a router.


My New site OpenEyes
Sponsored Links
#9643 - 12/13/04 11:35 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
OR you can just be like me, get a router,use port forwarding to forward port 21 to your ftp machine, the have a windows based ftp server running; then you don't have to learn nix...

spanky, he just wants a small ftp server to share soem files with his friend and you have him completely ditching his pc to install a new operating system; tisk tisk


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#9644 - 12/13/04 05:47 PM Re: FTP  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 34
n0mel Offline
Junior Member
n0mel  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 34
...
If you want to access your server from computers behind a firewall, make sure that your ftp server has passive support and that you forward the appropriate ports. On a normal ftp connection, the client connects to port 21. Then the server connects to the client over port 20 to send any requested data. If the users (or you) are behind a firewall, then incomming connections are not allowed, so they won't be able to receive any data. Passive makes it so that the ftp client connects to the ftp server to get the data; the server never has to connect to the client. Since outgoing connections are allowed when behind the average firewall, the users will be able to receive data from your ftp server. Otherwise, your ftp server will be useless to them/you.

#9645 - 12/14/04 12:18 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
OK I setup free webspace at prohosting.com but now I don't know how to proceed, the say I get a free FTP account and 1 GIG transfer a month, is that enough for a small server? I get 50 mb of space.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#9646 - 12/14/04 05:09 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
1GB = uploading 1 ISO and having someone download a part of it ... 50MB space woudln't even be enough for most of today's programs; if I understand what you want this for...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#9647 - 12/14/04 05:20 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
for the record i never said anything about programs, you did


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#9648 - 12/14/04 06:39 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Yeh, but I'm not a basketcase and put 2 and 2 together ...


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#9649 - 12/23/04 11:50 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 22
busfault Offline
Junior Member
busfault  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 22
NY
I would suggest running a Linux box with wu-ftpd http://www.wu-ftpd.org . Its easy to setup and much less hastle than Apache, unless you want a http server as well. If its a win box you can get Apache for windows too, I think. I haven't used the win version in a while though. http://www.apache.org/ You might also be able to find FTP software on Source Forge .
For the router deal, it shouldn't be too hard to set it up to forward the FTP port to that machine. You will also have to find out if your ISP blocks the FTP & HTTP ports, if they do you will have to run the FTP on a different port, one that they don't block of course. If it is on a different port you don't have to run the machine on a different port, you can just configure the router to assign the new port to port 21 of the FTP server. Example: Forward 10.10.10.10 port 12345 to 192.168.1.128 port 21


-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
GCS/E d- s++:- a- C+++ UL+++ P+ L++ E-- W- N+ o-- K- w--- O M+ V-- PS++ PE-- Y+ PGP t+ 5++ X+ R+++ tv+ b++ DI++ D--- G++ e+ h r+++ y++++
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------
#9650 - 02/19/05 11:42 AM Re: FTP  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
n0rt Offline
Junior Member
n0rt  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Russia
Hi
i know thats is an off topic but i have a question about FTP
so , Can i connect to Ftp server trough proxy? what can u recommend me?
tnx .
PS sorry for my bad english %)


Take the best separate the rest
#9651 - 02/19/05 01:52 PM Re: FTP  
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Ghost Offline
UGN Super Poster
Ghost  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 807
Likes: 1
Wisconsin
yes, you can use a SOCKS 4 or SOCKS 5 proxy to connect to an FTP server.

#9652 - 02/19/05 10:03 PM Re: FTP  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
n0rt Offline
Junior Member
n0rt  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Russia
tnx


Take the best separate the rest

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics46,816
Posts81,986
Average Daily Posts11
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,980
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)