UGN Security
Posted By: Spyrios What Certifications? - 10/16/04 02:04 AM
It's been ahile since I posted and I don't know where this post would go, I think it's a newb question, since I am new at this, anyway, I took the step to enroll myself into college to earn my AAS (it's a start)in Information Technology/Networking and Security Management. I am going to regionally accredited technical college and as part of my tuition I have the opprotunity to get certifications in addition to my degree. So my question is, if i really want to be on the security side of networks what Certs should I get. Please Pick From The following List:
CompTia Linux+
CompTia Security+
CompTia Server+ Certification
Sun Solaris UNIX System Administrator (SCSA)
Security Certified Professional (SCP level 1 and level 2)
MCSE
MCSA
MCP
Certified Novell Administrator (CNA)
Certified Cisco Network Associate (CCNA)
COmpTIA Network+
CompTia A+ Hardware and Software
Posted By: Gremelin Re: What Certifications? - 10/16/04 06:51 AM
CCNA (great)
A+ (sadly most places love it)
COmpTIA Network+
CompTia Linux+
CompTia Security+
CompTia Server+ Certification
MCSE
CCNA (great)
Posted By: Infinite Re: What Certifications? - 10/16/04 07:21 AM
Security side eh....

CCNA, CCSP, CISSP For starters...

I don't care if they're not on the list :p
Posted By: Spyrios Re: What Certifications? - 10/16/04 07:47 PM
The only one's that are included in my tution are the ones listed. So those are the choices I have for right now. Also you guys being the subject matter experts, what kind of pay can i expect to recieve once i am done with school, because not only do i love computers, i need to get out of the Navy. I am on my second enlistment and I will be getting out in