UGN Security
Posted By: Jester009 Dial up without phone charges? - 07/15/05 01:09 AM
Hai ppl,

I'm kinda new in this subject ,
Is it possible to make dial up connection without paying phone charges?
plzz let me knw

THNX
Posted By: Ghost Re: Dial up without phone charges? - 07/15/05 02:05 AM
Yes, get a free dial up provider. There are a few around.
Posted By: Jester009 Re: Dial up without phone charges? - 07/16/05 01:11 AM
Thnx 4 replyin ghost smile
Is there any other way, i mean i ve heard bout a proggy called modem jammer which will block caller id,
doesn't it mean only d caller id z blocked or call wont b charged?

Thnx
Posted By: Ghost Re: Dial up without phone charges? - 07/16/05 04:26 AM
If you're trying to avoid phone billing charges from your phone service provider, I can't help you. Also, I don't see why blocking caller id would have any bearing on charges made to your line, other than jacking up your phone bill.
Posted By: Jester009 Re: Dial up without phone charges? - 07/17/05 06:39 PM
anyway Thnx Ghost
Posted By: Gremelin Re: Dial up without phone charges? - 07/18/05 10:31 AM
Just to let you know, anything that would block your number from being seen on a caller ID (*72 or whatever your CO uses for number blocking) is worthless as the companies that charge to your phone line don't need the display.

You can spoof your caller ID with an OrangeBox or through a few other means, however getting it to work can be a royal [censored].

There used to be a method called "op diverting" which allowed you to con your 0 op into forward you to an 800# which would drop your number if your 0 op was using ANI2 equipment; you would then, by some operators, be asked your phone number to which you could give them any old number... Note that 1800operator no longer does this, and that 1800bellsouth no longer allows you to bill to the number you're calling from wink ...