UGN Security
Posted By: Donnie Darko Boxes for Beginners - 08/20/03 01:19 AM
Okay, I'm pretty new to phreaking and electronics in general. I've built a basic beige box and i'm looking for a bigger challenge. Besides the red box, what are the other boxes that are made for novices?

P.S.
I found my telephone box on my house and i plugged my beige box in and it worked fine. Are there boxes like these on EVERYONE'S house?
Posted By: hobbes01721 Re: Boxes for Beginners - 10/20/03 04:49 AM
I've been told that there are, but I haven't seen them. As for another box, I would think that the Black box would be pretty simple, and it gives the people who call you free long distance for a half hour until the phone companies catch on. For plans, just google search "Black Box Plans" and you should get something under "Anarchist's Cookbook" or someplace like that.
Posted By: SkillXXX Re: Boxes for Beginners - 10/20/03 01:19 PM
id like to know how to bulid a beige box, anywhere i can find instructions?
Posted By: decoder Re: Boxes for Beginners - 10/20/03 02:10 PM
How to build a beige box
by decoder

method 1: buy one from harris, ebay, home depot, etc.

method 2: steal one from a telco truck, your friend or from home depot

method 3: take a phone, (preferrably a small one with the keypad in handset) cut off the jack on the end of the wire, strip the red and the green wires inside, affix alligator clips to each one, test it by clipping onto your neighbors line by dialing 1-900-FAT-[censored].

note: method 3 describes how to build your basic, no frills beige box. Many other features can be added such as a custom mute button, an in-use light, a sticker that says "31337 h4x0r" or anyhting else that would be useful.
Posted By: $500,000 Bentley Re: Boxes for Beginners - 10/23/03 07:53 AM
check the old kbase. they have all that stuff
Posted By: paradox Re: Boxes for Beginners - 10/23/03 11:43 AM