It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.


In the X Window System, programs connect to the X server, possibly via a computer network. Since the network may be accessible to other users, a method for forbidding access to programs run by users different from the one who is logged in is necessary.

There are five standard access control mechanisms that control whether a client application can connect to an X server. They can be grouped in three categories:

1. access based on host
2. access based on cookie
3. access based on user

Additionally, like every other network connection, tunnelling can be used. The xhost command sets the names of the hosts or users authorized to make connections to the X server. A host name proceeded by a plus sign (+) is added to the access list, A host name proceeded by a minus sign (-) is deleted from the access list. Two plus signs (++) allows everyone access while two minus signs (--) denies access to all on the access list.
Posted on May 31st, 2014


( Posted)

Related Products

▼ Sponsored Links ▼
▲ Sponsored Links ▲
Donate Today