UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin
09/18/14 09:42 AM
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
Latest Reviews
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#11404 - 07/14/05 06:09 PM Dial up without phone charges?
Jester009 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/14/05
Posts: 7
Loc: Sri Lanka
Hai ppl,

I'm kinda new in this subject ,
Is it possible to make dial up connection without paying phone charges?
plzz let me knw

THNX

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#11405 - 07/14/05 07:05 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Ghost Offline


Registered: 06/16/03
Posts: 807
Loc: Wisconsin
Yes, get a free dial up provider. There are a few around.
_________________________
[[ GamerSupport ] [ UGN Security ] [ Evil Hosting ] [ Comic Relief ]
~[Ghost]

Top
#11406 - 07/15/05 06:11 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Jester009 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/14/05
Posts: 7
Loc: Sri Lanka
Thnx 4 replyin ghost
Is there any other way, i mean i ve heard bout a proggy called modem jammer which will block caller id,
doesn't it mean only d caller id z blocked or call wont b charged?

Thnx

Top
#11407 - 07/15/05 09:26 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Ghost Offline


Registered: 06/16/03
Posts: 807
Loc: Wisconsin
If you're trying to avoid phone billing charges from your phone service provider, I can't help you. Also, I don't see why blocking caller id would have any bearing on charges made to your line, other than jacking up your phone bill.
_________________________
[[ GamerSupport ] [ UGN Security ] [ Evil Hosting ] [ Comic Relief ]
~[Ghost]

Top
#11408 - 07/17/05 11:39 AM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Jester009 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/14/05
Posts: 7
Loc: Sri Lanka
anyway Thnx Ghost

Top
#11409 - 07/18/05 03:31 AM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Just to let you know, anything that would block your number from being seen on a caller ID (*72 or whatever your CO uses for number blocking) is worthless as the companies that charge to your phone line don't need the display.

You can spoof your caller ID with an OrangeBox or through a few other means, however getting it to work can be a royal bitch.

There used to be a method called "op diverting" which allowed you to con your 0 op into forward you to an 800# which would drop your number if your 0 op was using ANI2 equipment; you would then, by some operators, be asked your phone number to which you could give them any old number... Note that 1800operator no longer does this, and that 1800bellsouth no longer allows you to bill to the number you're calling from ...

Additionally if you're using number blocking to call a toll free # it's worthless as it passes your number reguardless of any blocking on your telephone line.
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#11410 - 07/18/05 09:30 AM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Jester009 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/14/05
Posts: 7
Loc: Sri Lanka
WOW Gizmo Thnx a lot

Hwever i did some googling bout phreakin
What i found out was that the articles written on phreakin is kinda old or b'coz d country is different i wont b able to experiment. Although I got some articles bout boxin



sooo that means there z nothin 2 do 4 billing in dial up networkin

THnx again Gizmo

Top
#11411 - 07/18/05 11:16 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
'eh up until recently people have been able to bluebox china, so it woudlnt' be suprising if other countries where using old equipment as well.
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#11412 - 07/19/05 11:56 AM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
india is spending big money to upgrade thier phone network. maybe the some island country, parts of asia are still 3rd world. African countryies. But what phone charges are there? Most ISP's have local numbers everywhere.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
#11413 - 07/19/05 03:17 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Jester009 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/14/05
Posts: 7
Loc: Sri Lanka
yh some r workin but some wont

yh it is local charges but i wanted 2 chk out if there z a solution


Top
#11414 - 07/20/05 12:53 AM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Sintax, he likely has an isp which charges to your phone line to which he wants it so he can go online and they can't charge him... We have the same types of ISP's here in the states, however rare they are...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#11415 - 09/10/05 08:28 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
J-k Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/10/05
Posts: 4
Loc: USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Ghost:
Yes, get a free dial up provider. There are a few around.
Well actually...thats not an answer to his question...cuz thats just to get Internet free but when you dial up the number that your computer dials to usually goes to ur phone bill..
_________________________
I will get it soon!!

Top
#11416 - 09/10/05 09:43 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
No.... Cause they have local numbers that you dial into...

Top
#11417 - 09/12/05 03:08 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Quote:
Originally posted by J-k:
Well actually...thats not an answer to his question...cuz thats just to get Internet free but when you dial up the number that your computer dials to usually goes to ur phone bill..
There are truely "FREE" isp's out there; what you're referring to is a "Pay-By-Phone" ISP which there are a few as well.
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#11418 - 09/16/05 12:40 PM Re: Dial up without phone charges?
Jester009 Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/14/05
Posts: 7
Loc: Sri Lanka
I'm using dial up networkin to surf d net & my isp consider d online time i spent as a phone call & add the charge for my phone bill

I've got an software bluebox.even i can dial thru this to my isp number i wont b able 2 surf d net?
coz it z not dial up networkin.

Am i right?

Got any solutions guys?


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Gremelin 
Featured Member
Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34507 Topics
69677 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27669
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 311 Guests and 286 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!