UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
July
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#15311 - 04/22/02 05:12 PM Making a router
Soap Offline
Member

Registered: 03/08/02
Posts: 119
Loc: AfriKA
I have a small network which connects to the internet thru a proxy server running winXP. The proxy supports http/ftp/etc, and some gateways too (FTP/telnet). The problem is routing will only works for these supported protocols. What if I want to be able to use all 65535 ports that is not only as request to all ports, but also being able to serve (perhaps).

Essentially it's turning my winXP box into a router right? Is that possible. Software-wise does something propose this feature?
I have tried port mappers but they only allow to pre-define to certain hosts and ports, no *real time* work :-(

thx

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#15312 - 04/22/02 10:44 PM Re: Making a router
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
It's possible, but it wouldn't be easy. You'd have to hook the adapter to route it. Of course an application can't setup servers on every port. I don't know of any software that does this.

However hardware routers do it all the time. Go buy one. My linksys switched 4-port router with a built in firewall only cost me $60.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#15313 - 04/23/02 12:40 AM Re: Making a router
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Take a look at http://www.sygate.com and snag a copy of their business connection sharing software. "You can snag a crack for it at http://www.astalavista.box.sk but only use it for educational pourposes until you decide to purchase it"... :x
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#15314 - 04/23/02 12:22 PM Re: Making a router
Soap Offline
Member

Registered: 03/08/02
Posts: 119
Loc: AfriKA
"You'd have to hook the adapter to route it."

I don't get it SilentRage.

as for the hardware router..I just posted before (i'm in africa) ..no way I'm gonna find a router :-(
except for my isp's one lol

Top
#15315 - 04/23/02 01:30 PM Re: Making a router
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
Don't worry about what I said about hooking the adaptor. If sygate does what you want, then it will do all that low-level work automatically and you won't need to know a thing about it.

For pure interest's sake, I guess I'll explain hooking - even if you may never use this information:

Normal Behavior:
Data gets passed from your cable line to your ethernet card. Then it is passed to your ethernet adapter, then to the operating system, then to the relevent program.

When you "hook" something, you insert yourself into the chain of events so that it would be like this:

Data gets passed from your cable line to your ethernet card. Then it is passed to your ethernet adapter, then it is passed to the hooking program, then the program may CHOOSE to pass it to the operating system, which will then be passed to the relevent program.

So by hooking into the chain of events, you may log or even filter the pass-thru data.

This is how software firewalls block connectivity.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#15316 - 04/23/02 08:36 PM Re: Making a router
Soap Offline
Member

Registered: 03/08/02
Posts: 119
Loc: AfriKA
right, so essentially this could be done coding my own firewall...
and apparently, that's been done (says gizmo).

k i'll check that sygate thanx. BTW SilentRage Africa's will, i'm still on 56K :-(

Top
#15317 - 04/23/02 10:36 PM Re: Making a router
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
Well, there's dial-up adapters too.

Data moves much the same way:
Internet -> Modem -> Adapter -> OS -> Program
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top

Featured Member
Registered: 08/21/13
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2145 Members
46 Forums
33374 Topics
68541 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 10:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 26537
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jimmie Menon, fghijk435948, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 680 Guests and 332 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!