UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
August
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Amazon Gift Card Generator/KeyGen?te
by Gecko666
08/22/14 09:21 AM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#18200 - 02/12/04 12:20 PM naming php variables
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 69
I have read that I cannot have a space when naming a php variable. Here is my issue. I have a form im working with that someone enters there first name, last name etc..

When im writing the php script can i use the underscore for the naming process.. In other words I know I cannot use $First Name as a valid variable. But can I instead use
$First_Name ? Or am I completely way off base here? Any help is appreciated.
_________________________
Your mind is fine. Reality is what needs adjusting.

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#18201 - 02/12/04 04:46 PM Re: naming php variables
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
That's what you're supposed to use; it's invalid html to have spaces in a name declaration.
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#18202 - 02/13/04 04:13 AM Re: naming php variables
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
Correct. $FirstName, $first_name, $First_name, $First_Name

These are all different but valid varriables.
You could also have something like...


**Replace ) with > and ( with <
Code:
if(!$form_step){
//above line breaks script up and says if no value is set for $form_step do the following.
(Form=My_form.php?form_step=submit)
First Name(br)
(input name="Name[]" id="Name[]" Value="<? echo "$Name[0]"; ?>")
(br)
Last Name(br)
(input name="Name[]" id="Name[]" Value="<? echo "$Name[1]"; ?>")
}
The above turns the first and last anme variables into an array of Name. All array's start at 0 by default. So the First Name would be $Name[0] and Last Name would be called with $Name[1]. Now we work some magic.

Code:
//in same document below the above
if($form_step == "submit"){
if ($Name[0] == ""){
$Name[0] = "Please Enter your First Name";
}
if ($Name[1] == ""){
$Name[1] = "Please Enter your Last Name";
}

if ($Name[0] == "Please Enter your First Name"){
?>
(meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5;url=My_form.php")
(center)
You did not properly complete this form.  Taking you back.
?>
     }
if ($Name[1] == "Please Enter your First Name"){
?>
(meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5;url=My_form.php")
(center)
You did not properly complete this form.  Taking you back.
<?
     }
//if the above steps are not executed then you 
//and start the trim and insert functions
}
See the following links for some ideas
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/ref.array.php


*This is a must for form data*
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.trim.php

http://us2.php.net/manual/en/control-structures.for.php

Make all name in your form something like form_feild[]. Now you can trim them all using something like a while or for loop

http://us2.php.net/manual/en/control-structures.for.php
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/control-structures.while.php


With arrays you will want to know these commands also.
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.count.php
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.explode.php
http://us2.php.net/manual/en/function.split.php


$REMOTE_ADDR - Gets user IP
more environment variables help

Let me know if this helps

http://us4.php.net/getenv
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
#18203 - 02/13/04 05:12 PM Re: naming php variables
loanbanker Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 03/05/02
Posts: 69
Thanks Gizmo for clearing it up for me.

Sin, I have to say that your post is absolutely perfect in timing. Arrays are the next chapter!

Im reading your links now. Thank you for the help!
_________________________
Your mind is fine. Reality is what needs adjusting.

Top
#18204 - 02/14/04 04:30 AM Re: naming php variables
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
If you use session try to put the secure(meaning encrypted or non security related) user info you need on all other pages in the session at login time using an array. This will minimise queries and hopefuly speed up page loads.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top

Moderator:  §intå×, Gremelin 
Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34027 Topics
69194 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27189
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 296 Guests and 301 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!