UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
November
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#30022 - 12/09/04 03:56 PM Re: System Rebooting
res Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/18/04
Posts: 15
Loc: Melbourne, AU
Hello.
crasy which motherboard brand, model and revision is in your system?
_________________________
If A equals success, then the formula is: A = X + Y + Z, X is work. Y is play. Z is keep your mouth shut.

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#30023 - 12/13/04 11:10 PM Re: System Rebooting
crasy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/19/04
Posts: 48
Loc: here
yea man sorry it took so long but i did not know becasue when i bought it it was mostly together i did not have a box or papers with the mother board well it is a Mercury ver 3.0 kvm266me
that is all that is says onthe board there is no bios althere is is a screen that asks what u wish to boot with and that is it when on xp pro in system proportys and under divice manager itsays i have a athlon xp 2000+ with 1.6 ghz and a gig of ram so what would be the problem

when i boaugt it the guy said it kept shuting off so he wanted to get rid of it so i got it for 100 bucks with all this stuff good deal but now i know he over clocked it i think he did it to much but i need help declocking it so canu help

i think i know were the jumpercable is but i dont know and i dont want to declock it too much because it is working good now but gets to hot and restarts. so what should i do
ps. it say mercury kobian.com when it turns on instead of shoing the mother boards name

Top
#30024 - 12/13/04 11:20 PM Re: System Rebooting
crasy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/19/04
Posts: 48
Loc: here
i scratch that it is a kvm266pm-u ver3.0

Top
#30025 - 12/14/04 05:36 AM Re: System Rebooting
res Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/18/04
Posts: 15
Loc: Melbourne, AU
Hello.
The problem may be the CPU depending upon the extent the person had overclocked it. The BIOS interface is entered by selecting a specific key.
The information stated in device manager is correct.
The CPU FSB jumper is on default 266MHz.
crasy use spell checker as it has a purpose.
_________________________
If A equals success, then the formula is: A = X + Y + Z, X is work. Y is play. Z is keep your mouth shut.

Top
#30026 - 12/16/04 02:42 AM Re: System Rebooting
crasy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/19/04
Posts: 48
Loc: here
sorry i dont spell good but hea we are all human
well back to subject if there was somthing wrong with the cpu wouldn't it just not work like not turn on but if it is in normal condition i think that the fsb jumper is on to hi but i dont know where it is and how to place it so any help and diagrams or if it is not even the jumper the ration in the bios is off. and i tryied every key i know f8 f4 f12 f5 f2 f1 all the ffs and all that came up was the safe mode startup screen and the choose the drive u wish to start up with so i choose the hard drive than it starts up there is no bios i think or i cant get to it

Top
#30027 - 12/16/04 07:31 AM Re: System Rebooting
res Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 06/18/04
Posts: 15
Loc: Melbourne, AU
Hello.
The person may have damaged or unlocked the CPU which presents a permanent problem. Leave the CPU FSB jumper as it is on default. Press DEL or specific key on post to enter bios. The manufacturer has no manual for the model online therefore you will have to work with trial and error.
_________________________
If A equals success, then the formula is: A = X + Y + Z, X is work. Y is play. Z is keep your mouth shut.

Top
#30028 - 12/17/04 01:05 AM Re: System Rebooting
crasy Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/19/04
Posts: 48
Loc: here
i flashed the bios and upgraded it
now when i go in to cpu setup it says it is going at 166
and there is an option of how you could overclock the cpu and it was on disable so i left it there now if i press f7 it made the defalt settings and i exited and saved
the same problem keeps happening and i took out all the extras like dvd drive nividia card i now used the onboard stuff but it still happens the temp go up very fast from 78 to 132 f but i turned the fans on full now it is like realy noisy so can u help

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Featured Member
Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 136
Forum Stats
2150 Members
46 Forums
35739 Topics
70909 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 28900
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
HushHush, golqm, Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767
2150 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 393 Guests and 330 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News
luxury goods sales at $405B by 2019
by golqm
10/28/14 05:19 AM


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!