UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#30185 - 11/22/03 08:51 PM windows/photoshop swap solutions?
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 10/08/02
Posts: 955
Loc: Merrill, IA, USA
I am working on building a cost-efficient graphics editing machine. I have a huge issue w/ the fact that I cannot find any small fast drives.

Wouldn't machines run better if you could buy a 1-5gig 10,000RPM drive that would serve only for things such as windows swap or photoshop scratch disk, etc. I mean, you still can't get 1gig sticks of RAM w/o spending a shitload.

As of now, my only real choice for a very fact scratch solution is to get the smallest SATA drives I can get (36Gigs). This solution cheaper than going SCSI.

So that leaves me with a RAID0 that will probably use 5 gigs at the absolute most and I would rather not have the drives serve any other function b/c that will take away from the performance.

So I am wasting about 67Gigs atleast. I know space is cheap, but that is ridiculous. Does anyone happen to know of a better solution for the most efficent swap setup? Maybe there is a solution I am missing.

Any input would be appreciated


Here are the smallest options that I see available w/ great speed/performance

SEAGATE [$137 ea]
18.0GB SCSI
10,000 RPM
N/A Cache
160MBPS rate
Seek time: 5.2ms

Western Digital Raptor [$122 ea]
36GB SATA
10,000 RPM
8MB Cache
150MBPS rate
Seek time: 5.2ms

IDE is too slow, USB is too slow, and Firewire drivers start @ 80BG.

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#30186 - 11/23/03 03:44 PM Re: windows/photoshop swap solutions?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Jon, i'd reccommend that you go for 20+ gig hd's, I'd definately go for the 36gb if I was in your shoes.

In my office I used IDE hard drives, 80+ gig, I'd reccommend that if you're planning on doing it right, always have more space than what you think you'll need...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#30187 - 11/23/03 09:54 PM Re: windows/photoshop swap solutions?
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
but a 36 gig scratch disk? For video editing, sure, but not image editing.

Why not just throw in like 4 gigs of RAM? Not many graphics files (even .psd) would fill that up, you wouldn't use any scratch, so it'd fly.

Top
#30188 - 11/23/03 10:59 PM Re: windows/photoshop swap solutions?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Perg, he could use it for more than a scratch disk, he coudl also use it for image storage, like i use mine for... hell I have diablo II running on my disk where my scratchdisk is located...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#30189 - 11/24/03 01:52 PM Re: windows/photoshop swap solutions?
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 03/14/02
Posts: 1136
Loc: Pimpin the Colorizzle
I know he could, but he doesn't want to.

"I would rather not have the drives serve any other function b/c that will take away from the performance."


and stop capitalizing my name all the time. It's pergesu or perg

Top
#30190 - 11/24/03 05:34 PM Re: windows/photoshop swap solutions?
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 10/08/02
Posts: 955
Loc: Merrill, IA, USA
Yes. Giz, I could but as perg said I would not like to. While working in photoshop I would not want ppl accessing the photoshop files via the network b/c performance would slow there as well. As for the RAM idea, the mobo I am using has 4 slots for DDR 400MHz. I will get 4x512 and put that in there. I cannot find single 1gig sticks and 4slots is the most I have seen on any motherboard, so while some do go upto 4 as you said, the RAM isn't there yet and the price won't be for a while.

Perhaps I will just go w/ RAID0 using the 2 SATA 36gigs on a Promise Controller. Not sure if going to RAID will boost performance more overall then just having swap on a different 36gig, but this way there might be an increase in speed w/o wasting so much space??

/me shrugs

Top
#30191 - 11/24/03 09:27 PM Re: windows/photoshop swap solutions?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Jon, you don't have to share it :x...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#30192 - 11/25/03 11:06 PM Re: windows/photoshop swap solutions?
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 10/08/02
Posts: 955
Loc: Merrill, IA, USA
Different ppl for different functions. There is one mean machine that does the fileserving and the actual multipose shots, etc. Another machine/person that does the cropping/editing, another machine/person to fix up the small image imperfections, another machine/person to do the lighting adjustments. So the main machine is the file storage/server and also the one that deals with multiple layers and pictures at once. Sometimes totalling over 1gig, fortunately, the files transfered are normally the flattened images.

Top

Featured Member
Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
35207 Topics
70377 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 28369
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 435 Guests and 271 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!