UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
December
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#3529 - 02/01/03 09:04 AM Question for people who work with DNS
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
What is the most convenient way can you think of for using a commandline dns lookup utility? Like what parameters would you find most convenient? What output would you find the most readable/useable? You see, I'm making one and am collecting ideas.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#3530 - 02/01/03 01:53 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
Scalli0n Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/01/02
Posts: 68
I'd like a DNS client to provide me with the lookup results for an IP or a hostname, then give me the nameservers that assigned that result (if it's not a .com|org|net sorta name (i.e. upper level)

Top
#3531 - 02/01/03 09:58 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
well, it'll be able to display anything, but what I'm collecting is ideas on how to issue the commandline. Also, in how it formats the return data.

Ex: (current setup)

C:\>dns http://www.yahoo.com
64.58.76.228
64.58.76.177
64.58.76.223
64.58.76.230
64.58.76.226
64.58.76.227
64.58.76.179
64.58.76.231
64.58.76.229
64.58.76.176
64.58.76.178
64.58.76.222

C:\>dns -vV http://www.yahoo.com (-v all answers, -V all fields)
http://www.yahoo.com CNAME IN 1368 http://www.yahoo.akadns.net
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.228
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.177
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.223
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.230
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.226
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.227
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.179
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.231
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.229
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.176
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.178
http://www.yahoo.akadns.net A IN 49 64.58.76.222

C:\>dns -tPTR 64.58.74.222
w1.dcx.yahoo.com

(it used the default dns server as specified in the ini file, you may of course specify one)

dns -s A.ROOT-SERVER.NET http://www.yahoo.com
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#3532 - 02/02/03 08:01 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
Mornse Offline
Member

Registered: 03/03/02
Posts: 185
Loc: Vancouver
Allow it to output to a text file, oh, i guess you could just do like

C:\>dns http://www.yahoo.com >> output.txt

Right? Would that work? If not, make it possible to output to a text file.
_________________________
Cha want some w***up?

http://www.dopeskill.com

Top
#3533 - 02/02/03 09:17 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
I know that its a totally differant thing completely, but it'd be kind of handy if you could:

C:\>dns -t undergroundnews.com

and get an output of the traceroute file for say 30 hops :x... But thats taking advantage of a dns utility since traceroute and ping are two entirely differant tools :/.
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#3534 - 02/02/03 09:48 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
no actually traceroute and ping are almost completely the same (same protocol ICMP). dns however is of course a completely different protocol, and no I won't have that feature because of that.

yes mornse, you can output the data from the query to file. Which is why I'll have options to include not only answer records, but authoritative records and additional records to recieve the full report like my current DNS lookup gives.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#3535 - 02/03/03 10:15 AM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
lol, well, nevermind. I decided I don't need suggestions (although they're still welcome). I finally sat down and decided to do some planning for the command-line rather than coding as I go. The command-line system I've developed fits all my ideals:

Powerful - rediculously powerful
typer friendly - pre-configure commandline profiles (reduces typing)
readable/intuitive commandline options

It'll be a downright joy to use!

Imagine typing this into the commandline anytime:

C:\>dns !yahoo

And getting all the IP addresses associated with yahoo.com . Or how bout this:

C:\>dns !IP http://www.undergroundnews.com

!IP would have contained all the options you desire for your basic IP lookup needs.

gosh DANG I love being a genious.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#3536 - 02/06/03 05:09 AM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
Scalli0n Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/01/02
Posts: 68
Mornse - just a tip - any program outputs via "command > textfile.txt" to textfile; it's usually a feature of the OS you're using.

And no, that was *not* a flame.

Top
#3537 - 02/15/03 07:05 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
Paragon Offline
Member

Registered: 06/14/02
Posts: 168
Well, not any...
Try the route command on windows. It won't let you pipe or redirect the output. It's a real pain actually, 'cause the help is more than one screen full. :-/

Top
#3538 - 02/18/03 09:27 AM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
ninjaneo Offline
UGN Security Staff

Registered: 03/06/02
Posts: 256
Loc: CA, USA
./dns http://www.bob.com
Resolvoed http://www.bob.com to 64.55.188.20

or elite things like

./dns *.bob.com

Top
#3539 - 02/18/03 03:22 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
Well, I had already completed the program, but this is what it currently looks like with default settings. Is this good enough? (keep in mind that some domains have multiple IP addresses)

Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\SR\Desktop>dns www.bob.com
Recursively querying A.GTLD-SERVERS.NET (192.5.6.30)
Recursively querying ns2.adgrafix.com (140.239.36.2)
.
** Answer Records     **********************************************************
www.bob.com              A     64.55.188.20
.
.
C:\Documents and Settings\SR\Desktop>dns bob.com
Recursively querying A.GTLD-SERVERS.NET (192.5.6.30)
Recursively querying ns2.adgrafix.com (140.239.36.2)
.
** Answer Records     **********************************************************
.
bob.com                  A     64.55.188.20
.
.
C:\Documents and Settings\SR\Desktop>
(for some reason I had to insert periods in the blank lines cause UBB wouldn't show the blank lines)
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#3540 - 02/18/03 03:31 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
I think neo wants to have *.bob.com for:

joe.bob.com
mom.bob.com
jack.bob.com

he basically wants it so that it'll dns all of the various hostnames, which i think would be sort of difficult (never use impossible, always someone who will go the long mile to kick your ass).
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#3541 - 02/18/03 07:16 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Registered: 03/04/02
Posts: 1273
Loc: OH, USA
There is no way within the DNS protocol to enumerate all the hosts a domain possesses.
_________________________
Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Top
#3542 - 02/18/03 09:08 PM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
I know, hence why i said it'd be difficult lol, i didn't want to be entirely negative about it ...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#3543 - 04/01/03 02:56 AM Re: Question for people who work with DNS
ninjaneo Offline
UGN Security Staff

Registered: 03/06/02
Posts: 256
Loc: CA, USA
aye SR.. but using either whois/nameserver servers you could get the list...

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 10/28/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2152 Members
46 Forums
36135 Topics
71305 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 29296
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
cdefgh368568, HushHush, golqm, Tim050, Gecko666
2151 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 382 Guests and 262 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!