UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
July
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#38817 - 03/20/04 07:27 AM Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
Microsoft's Service Pack 2 for XP will focus on e-mail security, memory protection, browsing security, and network protection. One default SP2 will have for Internet Explorer is a pop-up blocker.

A test version of SP 2 called Release Candidate 1 (RC1) has undergone beta-testing and will be available Friday via a technical preview program. Feedback is wanted before Microsoft rolls out a Release Candidate 2 version.

The final release of SP2 will be sometime before the middle of this year. Pop-up blocking is already on RC1 which is meant for IT professionals to test. Microsoft says that average consumers won't be asked to download this preliminary version.

Source
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#38818 - 03/20/04 08:40 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
man, Mozilla needs one ... Shit and i just ordered my update disk from microshaft...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#38819 - 03/20/04 09:09 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
Mozilla has one.. Mozilla Firebird has one too.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
#38820 - 03/20/04 12:22 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7192
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Then why in the fuck does my mozilla have popups ;x
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#38821 - 03/20/04 12:39 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
I never said it was good, I just said it has it.

http://mozilla.org/products/mozilla1.x/
Quote:

Popup blocker lets you surf the web without intrusion. Advanced popup blocker notifies you when popups are blocked. You can also block pop-ups on a site per site basis.
http://mozilla.org/products/firefox/why/#popup-blocking

Quote:

Popup Blocking
Firefox stops annoying popup windows dead in their tracks. Experience the web as it was supposed to be - peaceful, convenient, accessible.
You can try this
http://toolbar.google.com/

I use Norton internet security and I never see pop-ups.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
#38822 - 03/20/04 07:31 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster

Registered: 10/08/02
Posts: 955
Loc: Merrill, IA, USA
I have never had any popup issues using mozilla firefox version .8, or many of the previous versions (whatever they may have been called at the time)

Also let me block/allow images and popups on a site specific basis

Top
#38823 - 03/20/04 09:10 PM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member

Registered: 03/15/04
Posts: 419
Loc: VA
Google toolbar works like a charm, so does the norton, i use both and have not seen a pop up in a veryu long time.
_________________________
D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants

Top
#38824 - 03/21/04 03:00 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
IceMyst Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Registered: 10/22/03
Posts: 1449
Loc: Where ever Gizmo is
funny how gizmo gets pop-ups on his mozilla but i get none on mine.... he he he
_________________________
*Hell hath no fury like a womens anger and damn be the fool who gets in her way*

Donate to the "Baby Trey's Digital Camera" fund here .

Top
#38825 - 03/21/04 05:13 AM Re: Pop-Up Blocker to Be in Microsoft SP2
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
Might I sugest your mozilla pop-up blocker has been dissabled. Or maybe you have some ad ware running. Maybe is was dissabled by some nasty malware.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top

Featured Member
Registered: 08/21/13
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2145 Members
46 Forums
33404 Topics
68571 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 10:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 26567
Gremelin 7192
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Jimmie Menon, fghijk435948, Devo60, ali, lavos
2147 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 713 Guests and 312 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!