UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin
09/18/14 09:42 AM
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#50707 - 04/06/10 05:17 PM ddr2 ram
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 478
Loc: My room
My friend just gave me some ram.

2x1gb of ddr2,Kingston, 667
1.8v

I thought it would be as easy as putting them into the empty slots. SO I did, next to my corsair 2x1gb ones and turned the pc on. All I got was a continuous beep. So I pulled out all the ram and ut one in at a time, tried some combos, and nothing but a continuous beep sound when I use one/both of the new ones.

The kingstons are sitting on my desk atm. Not sure why it didn't work.

Thinking, the ram is bust, or I have to change voltage settings?

note: There was some yogurt on the ram when he gave it to me but I removed it carefully and it looks fine. I thought ram was better then that.
_________________________

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#50710 - 04/06/10 06:27 PM Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Artic Warrior]
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Well, it depends on what the motherboard supports... What model/brand of motherboard (or system) is it?

It's probably that the ram speed is too slow to be supported by the motherboard
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#50726 - 04/08/10 06:13 AM Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Gremelin]
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 478
Loc: My room
It's an Asus P5N32-e sli Plus

As far as I remember it could support DDR2 800/667/533.
_________________________

Top
#50733 - 04/08/10 08:32 PM Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Artic Warrior]
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Quote:
Support for up to 8GB of DDR2-533, DDR2-667 or DDR2-800MHz memory, with additional support for NVIDIA SLI-Ready Memory up to 1200MHz;


What processor do you have? lol
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#50796 - 04/19/10 04:47 PM Re: ddr2 ram [Re: Gremelin]
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 478
Loc: My room
E6850 @3GHz. Also something strange happened. I'll post in my other current active thread.
_________________________

Top

Featured Member
Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34507 Topics
69677 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27669
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 311 Guests and 286 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!