UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
November
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
Latest Reviews
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#50708 - 04/06/10 08:20 PM Re: PC restarting or freezing for unknown reasons [Re: Digital Geek]
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 478
Loc: My room
I ran the win7 mem test and it found no issues.
I also figured out how to make the image file boot disks.

SO I think it is the mobo, or cpu.
Win7 BSOD's and I get this message as it crash dumps on self reboot.

"A clock interupt was not recieved on a secondary processor within the allocated time"

I googled the problem and quite a few people out there had the same symptons of random freeze/restarts. But none had answers.
_________________________

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#50727 - 04/08/10 09:16 AM Re: PC restarting or freezing for unknown reasons [Re: Artic Warrior]
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 478
Loc: My room
I'll probably buy a new (old) motherboard. Keep all the other bits.
Should probs only cost $50 and last another year.
_________________________

Top
#50797 - 04/19/10 07:53 PM Re: PC restarting or freezing for unknown reasons [Re: Artic Warrior]
Artic Warrior Offline
UGN Member

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 478
Loc: My room
It may very well be the mobo.
After a friend got a new computer, I got his old ram and put it into my machine. His ram wouldn't register. I just got this continuous beep on start up. I tried every combo in the available 4 slots.

ANYWAY, I just went back to using my original 2GB of ramm (2x1GB) and since that day the pc has not restarted or froze or BSOD.

The pc registered only 1 of the sticks of ram at first and I thought that meant the other one was bust. Just then I put the supposed bust ram into another slot and it is registering. Currently I am using 1.5GB of Physical memory and no system shutdowns are occuring.

SO it was either the ram or the mobo?

I think the problem is solved. Will keep you guys posted if I run into any errors.
_________________________

Top
#50803 - 04/20/10 10:45 AM Re: PC restarting or freezing for unknown reasons [Re: Artic Warrior]
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
Some ram requires that you manually enter the memory clock data in the advanced settings, so it could be something quirky like that...
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2

Featured Member
Registered: 08/22/14
Posts: 1
Forum Stats
2150 Members
46 Forums
35727 Topics
70897 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 05:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 28888
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
golqm, Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60
2149 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 394 Guests and 324 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News
luxury goods sales at $405B by 2019
by golqm
10/28/14 05:19 AM


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!