UGN Security Forums
My ProfileMember DirectoryLogin
Search our ForumsView our FAQView our Site Rules
View our CalendarView our Active TopicsGo to our Main Page

UGN Security Store
 

Network Sites UGN Security, The GoNix Initiative, Elite Web Gamers, Back of the Web, EveryDay Helper, VNC Web Design & Development
September
Su M Tu W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Sponsored Links
Latest Postings
The History Thread...
by Gremelin
09/18/14 09:42 AM
Doom 3
by Cyrez
09/11/14 08:58 PM
Latest Reviews
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#8847 - 12/07/05 01:05 AM speed up connection using dual nic?
Jaspel Offline
UGN Poser

Registered: 11/17/03
Posts: 69
Loc: mn
My dorm has a very low bandwidth cap to prevent people from hoging resources. Problem is that it is set way too low. I cant even stream small video from cnet, somthing my home dsl is easily capablble of.

I decided to experiment. I have two nic's both connected to different ports in the wall. Although both register, it seems to just use whichever one's Ip was assigned first. I have looked online for a while now, but cant seem to come up with an answer. Most people who mention this arn't dealing with a cap, but instead are just pluging into their own router twice. Wouldnt this essentially be the same as when people had dual dialup/isdn lines?

Is it as simple as adjusting advanced settings in windows, would a proxy be helpfull, what about third party software? thx
_________________________
"Even the on highest throne, one still sits on their ass"

Top
Sponsored Links
      
#8848 - 12/07/05 10:06 AM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
§intå× Offline


*****

Registered: 12/03/02
Posts: 3255
Loc: Maryland
Sounds like you are trying to MUX or multiplex 2 data streams. You at first would think you could just run 2 nic cards, but alas it isn't that easy. You Can however double your bandwidth but the feed has to be muxed together before hitting your NIC card.

Now as for taking 2 paths to get your data I do not think that will work. ISDN is not ethernet.
_________________________
My New site OpenEyes

Top
#8849 - 12/07/05 02:46 PM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
I did some thinking on this last night and can't figure out for the life of me how to COMBINE the two streams; I mean there is "load balancing" but that'd use whichever line isn't bogged, not "combining" the speed...

To load balance just go grab yourself a Linksys WRT54GS (yes, the GS and not the G, it has more onboard RAM and is a better overall product, the newer WRT54G's are cheaper than hell hardware wise as they're trying to b0g users from installing 3rd party firmware) and go over to http://www.sveasoft.com and buy a dev subscription ($20/yr, i need to renew mine soon) and get yourself the latest Talisman release and do a search on their forums for "Load Balancing"; easiest and most effective setup (not to mention you'll have a wireless router to play with)
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#8850 - 12/07/05 04:48 PM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
Jaspel Offline
UGN Poser

Registered: 11/17/03
Posts: 69
Loc: mn
heh-I saw you reading and was wondering why you didn't respond.
Are you saying that I would need the older gs, or would any be fine. I have a wrt54gc err, do you think that would work? (its basically just a compact wrt54gs) It would be intresting if they both use the same firmware with just a smaller form factor.

I understood that it wouldn't be a simple thing. I just figured it would be a good project for me.

Sin- thanks, although I was just trying to say that it seemed to me to be the same concept as haveing an "dual"-(?) isdn connection, right. isdn link

I wasn't aware of loadbalancing, Ill look into that as well.
Thanks guys, Ill be reading up.
_________________________
"Even the on highest throne, one still sits on their ass"

Top
#8851 - 12/07/05 04:55 PM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
Gremelin Offline

Community Owner
*****

Registered: 02/28/02
Posts: 7193
Loc: Portland, OR; USA
I say GS because of the ram; I donno if the "gc" would be supported, you'd have to ask over there.

Load balancing is a great idea, if i had the cash for DSL in the area i'd load balance with a cable and a dsl connection heh... I have a WRT54GS v1.1
_________________________
Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, Elite Web Gamers & VNC Web Design Owner

Top
#8852 - 12/07/05 05:00 PM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
Forget it. You can't do what you want here.

The absolute best you could accompolish is load balancing, which could possibly simulate faster speeds, but only for multiple applications, ie you could stream a vid and surf the net at the same time.

additionally, you shouldn't need any additional hardware to loadbalance. I know *nix can do it, so I'm sure window prolly can.

Top
#8853 - 12/07/05 05:12 PM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
Jaspel Offline
UGN Poser

Registered: 11/17/03
Posts: 69
Loc: mn
The "c" isnt mentioned. Im sure its too new.

http://www.winguides.com/registry/display.php/951/
_________________________
"Even the on highest throne, one still sits on their ass"

Top
#8854 - 12/09/05 06:47 PM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
Hey, there you go. Way to search. Good work.

Top
#8855 - 12/09/05 07:15 PM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
I know in linux you cannot have two interfaces (not virtual interfaces) with the same gateway, maybe not even on the same network.

Top
#8856 - 12/09/05 09:13 PM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
Infinite Offline



Registered: 03/09/02
Posts: 1041
Loc: Canada eh
I can think of a few ways around that.

Top
#8857 - 12/13/05 09:13 AM Re: speed up connection using dual nic?
sinetific Offline
nobody

Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 815
Loc: Ann Arbor
like how?

Top

Moderator:  Infinite 
Featured Member
Registered: 03/02/02
Posts: 136
Forum Stats
2148 Members
46 Forums
34540 Topics
69710 Posts

Max Online: 1567 @ 04/25/10 02:20 AM
Top Posters
UGN Security 27702
Gremelin 7193
§intå× 3255
SilentRage 1273
Ice 1146
pergesu 1136
Infinite 1041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Newest Members
Tim050, Gecko666, defghi795767, Devo60, ali
2148 Registered Users
Who's Online
0 registered (), 381 Guests and 289 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest News


Donate
  Get Firefox!
Get FireFox!