Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#4091 - 05/12/03 06:51 PM CTD and re-boot..
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
scandinavia
right, listen up ppl.

i've got a huge problem. i play alot of games. alot of the games i play there is a problem with.sure, i can start them up and play but they will eventually crash to desktop or make the comp re-boot. i think i must have something to do with my hardware setup. is there anything you guys can tell me except "stupid question, next question"

here is my spec.

AMD athlon 900mhz
768mb sd-ram 133mhz
geforce 2 400MX (latest drivers)
abit KT7A-raid motherboard with via chipset. (bios is flashed and via hyperion 4-1 drivers installed)
winXP pro + service pack 1
directX 9.0
SB! live platinum (latest drivers)
1 12gb ide drive
1 40gb ide drive

all help is of value.


I am beyond God, I am human. I am the razorblade on the communion vein.
Top
Sponsored Links
#4092 - 05/12/03 07:20 PM Re: CTD and re-boot..
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
Interesting problem. I don't know of any one thing that would cause that for sure, but i can think of many little things that could. I found the following thread on another board that seems to address the same problem that you are experiencing:

http://www.tek-tips.com/gviewthread.cfm/lev2/66/lev3/68/pid/749/qid/340301

Specifically these two posts are a good place to start:

Quote:
Tschibo (Programmer) Dec 18, 2002
Markrian and others!
I've had the same problems some time ago.
What actually fixed this was
1) playing around with the aperture size
2) cooling the case
Especially the second point is very important, as it seems to be the problem in your case, too. That's why the crash appears later when switching to AGP1x or lowering the clock frequency, because the card doesn't cause so much heat. So it needs longer to overheat and hang the system.
So be sure to leave the accessible PCI slot under the AGP slot free. Remove all plates of unused slots. Install a case vent (usually there are the holes/grate to install one). A cheap one from your local radio shack will do.
That solved my problem instantly.
Greetz
Christoph
and...

Quote:
brainloop (TechnicalUser) Apr 9, 2003
GURUE28....one word man...thanks,

I bought a geforce3 Ti200 as an upgrade from a dying TNT2 and i was Pist when i found that i couldnt actually use the thing on direct3d games, couldnt even smile at a infinitely higher 3dmark score....

i followed what you did in the thread, updating the 4-in-1 drivers and more importantly getting that patch, and it hasnt been smoother...ever, my video card narrowly escaped a hammer attack thanks to that advise

so...if your having problems, read these words and do what they say ::

"nyway, I was starting to get pissy because Freelancer just came out and I couldn't run it, so I spent the entire day today trying to figure out how to fix this problem. First off, don't bother reformatting, because it won't fix anything. The problem is in the VIA 4-in-1 drivers. They need to be updated to the newest version and they can be found here: http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=2. There is also a patch file that needs to be downloaded and installed and it can be found here: http://pcbuyersguide.com/news/talkback/1007605948,64766,.shtml. For the link I just gave you, you will see the words "beta patch" underlined on the page as the link to the actual patch. "

that is all,
Other than that, you could try replacing your ide calbes, but I doubt that is causing the problem. And the last thing I have to say is test your ram. If you have some bad memory that could be cuasing your troubles. An excellent memory test can be found HERE

Hope that helps.

Infinite

Top
#4093 - 05/12/03 07:57 PM Re: CTD and re-boot..
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
scandinavia
thanks alot, i knew i'd get a good answer from someone on this board. you can always trust UGN!!


I am beyond God, I am human. I am the razorblade on the communion vein.
Top
#4094 - 05/12/03 10:06 PM Re: CTD and re-boot..
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
I read it and had three ideas, two of which Infinite mentioned. First, overheating, so make sure that it's sufficiently cooled. The second most likely cause would be bad memory, so use Infinite's link to test it. The third would be hardware compatibility problems. Sometimes certain graphics cards have trouble with certain chipsets, so check the vendor info for both if the first two suggestions don't help you find anything.

Top
#4095 - 05/13/03 08:09 AM Re: CTD and re-boot..
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
scandinavia
now i know it isn't overheating. i fresh started the comp. in the morning and started to play a game.
3min later the shit crashes and gives me this:

unhandled exception: c0000005
at address: 0067b8e3

is this bad memory?


I am beyond God, I am human. I am the razorblade on the communion vein.
Top
#4096 - 05/13/03 02:30 PM Re: CTD and re-boot..
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
You know it's not overheating? How do you know this? Just because it occurs within three minutes doesn't mean it's not, it could be that your system is definitely not being cooled properly. So make absolutely sure. Also, can you tell if this is an application error or a system error? Exceptions can be thrown in all kinds of places, so it's hard to determine what the problem is. Does it crash just when you're playing this game, or any game? And does it crash if you're not using the 3d accelarator at all? Keep in mind, some programs, Office for example, use the graphics accelarator for certain features.

Top
#4097 - 05/14/03 08:42 AM Re: CTD and re-boot..
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member
Nagachaak Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 89
scandinavia
right, here goes.

i know it's not overheating because i've used a thermometer. it sais that the gpu is around 38celsius and in BIOS it sais that my cpu is around 40 celsius, and this is when running a game using the 3daccelarator.

also i've installed 2 additional fans in the chassi and i've even used a tablefan=).

i used the memory check and it couldn't find anything. i ran all tests.

this leaves on thing....compability issues. i hate compability issues. also my gfx card doesn't support direcX 9.0.

thanks for your help infinite and usegrep.
i'm ready to give up this shitty comp.

ps. unhandled exception was when running an application using the 3daccelerator.


I am beyond God, I am human. I am the razorblade on the communion vein.
Top

Member Spotlight
Crime

Crime
SC, usa
Posts: 506
Joined: March 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Sponsored Links
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics46,445
Posts81,615
Members2,157
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,609
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860