Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 2
#9255 - 09/09/03 09:13 AM War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
Hey.... i have found numbers that computers have answered. From there, i try to call these numbers but all i get are some beeps. How should i change my configuration of data bits, parity, and stop bits?? Or do i need to change something else???I would appreciate the help-- Thanx

Sponsored Links
#9256 - 09/09/03 10:15 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 860
unreal Offline
Der ‹beltšter
unreal  Offline
Der ‹beltšter

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 860
Likes: 1
KCRQ
You're probably calling a fax machine. lol

#9257 - 09/09/03 11:07 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
You shouldn't need to change your data bits if you are trying to connect to a computer because once you connect you automatically go into a handshake procedure and if your getting a dial-tone that means you are disconnected.

#9258 - 09/09/03 02:46 PM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 240
paradox Offline
Member
paradox  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 240
New Zealand
Yeah they are right dialing and getting a response have nothing to dowith databits etc..
basically when war dialing your using your modem as a automated phone. Which just dials numbers in a range or randomly depending on your settings and then if it gets a response from a listening computer it stores this number in the got one list.. Thats how it worked.. and in New Zealand thats how i got access to old networks.. not many people use modems in wans or anything anymore


The wise make mistakes, the fools repeat them
----------------------------------------
When you have eliminated the impossible, that which remains, however improbable, must be the truth
#9259 - 09/09/03 05:17 PM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
Okay so..... should i still change my parity or stop bits then.... and if i change these will i see a difference the next time i dial one of these numbers???

Sponsored Links
#9260 - 09/09/03 10:57 PM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
pergesu Offline
UGN Elite Poster
pergesu  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,136
Pimpin the Colorizzle
They already told you. No, you don't need to change them. If you change them, you won't see a difference. Like unreal said, you're probably dialing a fax machine.

#9261 - 09/10/03 01:02 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
Ok thanx pergesu for verifying that for me.

#9262 - 09/10/03 01:20 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
oh and... once i find a number that a computer answers and i dial it, will a war dialer actually help me hack into that system???

#9263 - 09/10/03 03:37 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
I don't think so, you are just connecting to the computer you will still need a password and username.

#9264 - 09/10/03 04:19 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
but where will i enter the username and password??

Sponsored Links
#9265 - 09/10/03 07:50 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
ok.... forget my above reply. I have dialed up a computer and it asks me for the username, but when i go to enter it in, it only gives me a couple of seconds and then moves to the password -- not giving me enough time to enter the username and/or password. What should i do?//

#9266 - 09/10/03 08:34 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Infinite Offline
UGN Elite Poster
Infinite  Offline
UGN Elite Poster

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,041
Canada eh
You should put the keyboard down and back away from the computer, then forget you ever touched one and go about your life.

We're not gonna help you break into another system.

Infinite

#9267 - 09/11/03 03:10 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
Hey infinite thanx for the help bud!!!!!

#9268 - 09/11/03 05:34 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
OK are you dialing a computer or are you connecting to a computer through a medium like telnet.
1) dialing a computer:-
When you set-up your pc to connect to a computer (or internet) you open ie (internet explorer) and click on tools:Options:Connections: Then u add a new connection, at that point you will see a box for your username a password.
2) Connecting to a computer:-
You are connected to the internet and you have an ip... So you open the program that you are going to use to connect to the other pc and enter the details (IP:PORT) and then you connect. If you only get a second to type the password or username that means the program on the other end thinks you are some sort of program to and can type really fast, so for example you are using telnet to connect to somesort of pc running a program that only allows you 2 secs to type the username, then u have to find the same program or make one for yourself.

Hope i helped.

#9269 - 09/11/03 07:13 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
how do i know which one i am connecting to??? I have the phone number that i dial and it connects me to a Unix computer. And thats when it starts to give me only a few seconds to type in the username and password. What program are you talking about on the other end???? and how do i know which program it is?????//

#9270 - 09/12/03 03:36 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
So you are dialing a computer, Then do what i told you to do when dialing a computer. Do you know the difference between connecting to a computer and dialing a computer?

#9271 - 09/12/03 04:01 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
yes i know the difference

#9272 - 09/12/03 05:40 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Ntd Offline
Member
Ntd  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
How are you dialing the other computer?

#9273 - 09/12/03 08:59 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
i am dialing it through a communications terminal named "Modemscan"

#9274 - 09/12/03 09:00 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
do you think that i should try to connect through
Telnet????????///

#9275 - 09/14/03 12:17 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
The Storm Offline
Junior Member
The Storm  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
england
HA READ WHAT THERE SAY IN MAN


THE CALM BEFORE THE STORM
#9276 - 09/14/03 01:12 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
chuckyb555 Offline
Junior Member
chuckyb555  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
US
what exactly are they saying?

#9277 - 09/14/03 07:57 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
jonconley Offline
UGN Super Poster
jonconley  Offline
UGN Super Poster

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 955
Merrill, IA, USA
To cover again what NTD said

IP - Connecting over a network
Telephone - Connecting via "dial-in"

So while they may look the same telnetting into somewhere and dialing in, they both use very different ways to initially connect.

To telnet, you would use an IP. To dialin, you would use the phone number. Yes, some software allows you to do both and some servers allow you to reach them via phone or IP.

...

Now that that is covered, war dialers generally don't help you hack into a system. Their job is to dial a range of phone lines and list the ones that are computers. Some will grab a banner; the initial text that pops up on your screen.

...

Yes, some systems you will have to change various settings in order to connect properly and/or see anything on the display. This is kind of a guess and test thing, so their are no definite settings. If I remember right, 8-N-1 is the most common basic settings. It has been years, so don't hold me to that.

...

Some systems might not show a prompt, some you may not have time to type anything on, some systems will log your phone number and disconnect you. We can't answer any of the specifics really. If you are spending so much time doing this, experiment and find it out yourself. That is where the actual fun is.

#9278 - 09/22/03 11:02 AM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 57
smartyhands Offline
Junior Member
smartyhands  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 57
Montana Militant Camp
Some advice for total newbies:

Learn to use/manipulate/hack into your *->OWN<-* computer before doing so to someone else's.

PLEASE, PLEASE correct me if I'm wrong.


Back off, man! I'm a scientist... - Peter VenkMann
#9279 - 09/22/03 10:28 PM Re: War Dialing help  
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
XSilencerX Offline
Junior Member
XSilencerX  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Hi, i am the newbiest person you will ever talk to so go easy!
i am using A-dial to get some number, but it just keeps dialing and dialing, actually it spent all nite dialing and hasnt found crap! Do i have to change anything?


>XX<
Page 1 2

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics47,513
Posts82,683
Average Daily Posts8
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,677
Gremelin 7,195
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)