Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#19158 - 11/16/05 06:54 PM a space between variables  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
Testing Offline
UGN Member
Testing  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
Sacramento, CA
How do I print out a set of variables with a space between them. Sounds as though it should be simple as could be and perhaps it is,, however when you don't know how its maddening!

example:

Code:
<?php 

$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;

echo ($body1);
echo ($body2);


echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';


?>
This prints out


sallysmithThank you for registering. Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.


Assuming of course that sally is the first name and smith is the last name used when registering on the form.

What I cant figure out how to do is make it space between sally and smith ($body1 and $body2).

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!


Flipping houses in Sacramento market has been fantastic. Curious about what it takes to flip houses? Follow me at http://sacramentoflips.com.
Sponsored Links
#19159 - 11/16/05 07:18 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 247
KillHour Offline
UGN Member
KillHour  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 247
USA
I only have experience in C++, but the concept should be the same.

Try echoing a space between the variables.

Code:
<?php
$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;
echo ($body1);
echo ' '
echo ($body2);
echo ' '
echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';
?>


"We can categorically state that we have not released man-eating badgers into the area."

-UK military spokesman Major Mike Shearer
#19160 - 11/16/05 08:43 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
Testing Offline
UGN Member
Testing  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
Sacramento, CA
Worked like a charm. Thanks! As I thought, simple as can be. lol


Flipping houses in Sacramento market has been fantastic. Curious about what it takes to flip houses? Follow me at http://sacramentoflips.com.
#19161 - 11/16/05 08:53 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
It'd be easier as:

Code:
<?php 

$body1 = $LeadFirstName;
$body2 = $LeadLastName;

echo ("$body1 $body2 ");

echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';

?>
Or even:
Code:
<?php 

$names = "$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName";

echo ("$names ");

echo 'Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.';

?>


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#19162 - 11/16/05 10:54 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
Testing Offline
UGN Member
Testing  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 102
Sacramento, CA
Gizmo you are correct. I tried your first example but was messing up my syntax and I tried several variations of your second one. However when I type it correctly as you have shown it is much easier! Thanks for the help!


Flipping houses in Sacramento market has been fantastic. Curious about what it takes to flip houses? Follow me at http://sacramentoflips.com.
Sponsored Links
#19163 - 11/17/05 12:08 AM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
You could also do something like:
Code:
<?php 

$names = "$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName";

echo ("$names, Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.");

?>
Or even:
Code:
<?php 

echo ("$LeadFirstName $LeadLastName, Thank you for registering.  Your free ebook will be emailed to you within 48 hours.");

?>


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#19164 - 11/17/05 02:18 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
Nods.

PHP is very nice and forgiving with variables. You will also find numbers can be used as both char and int values. That is you can treat them as a string of text or in a math equation without creating a new variable. THis is not the case in most other languages, one or the other. PHP says, fuck it, your a number, we can do math, and fuck it, a number is a charater too.

#19165 - 11/17/05 08:52 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
AMEN!

Code:
<?php
     $one = "55";
     $two = "97";
     $type = "*";

     $math = $one $type $two;

     echo("$one $type $two equals $math");
?>


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#19166 - 11/18/05 02:01 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
why do you guys use() with echo?

lol

You could just
Code:
echo "some text";
or
Code:
print "some text";
or
Code:
<?="some text";?>

#19167 - 11/18/05 08:51 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
It looks more clean god damnit!


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
Sponsored Links
#19168 - 11/21/05 07:52 PM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline


Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
lol no it doesn't. It is two more charaters everytime you echo out something.

#19169 - 11/22/05 02:28 AM Re: a space between variables  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Readability


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics47,513
Posts82,683
Average Daily Posts8
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 40,677
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
No Data Found
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)