Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#15311 - 04/22/02 04:12 PM Making a router  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 119
Soap Offline
Member
Soap  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 119
AfriKA
I have a small network which connects to the internet thru a proxy server running winXP. The proxy supports http/ftp/etc, and some gateways too (FTP/telnet). The problem is routing will only works for these supported protocols. What if I want to be able to use all 65535 ports that is not only as request to all ports, but also being able to serve (perhaps).

Essentially it's turning my winXP box into a router right? Is that possible. Software-wise does something propose this feature?
I have tried port mappers but they only allow to pre-define to certain hosts and ports, no *real time* work :-(

thx

Sponsored Links
#15312 - 04/22/02 09:44 PM Re: Making a router  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage  Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
It's possible, but it wouldn't be easy. You'd have to hook the adapter to route it. Of course an application can't setup servers on every port. I don't know of any software that does this.

However hardware routers do it all the time. Go buy one. My linksys switched 4-port router with a built in firewall only cost me $60.


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net
#15313 - 04/22/02 11:40 PM Re: Making a router  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
Take a look at http://www.sygate.com and snag a copy of their business connection sharing software. "You can snag a crack for it at http://www.astalavista.box.sk but only use it for educational pourposes until you decide to purchase it"... :x


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#15314 - 04/23/02 11:22 AM Re: Making a router  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 119
Soap Offline
Member
Soap  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 119
AfriKA
"You'd have to hook the adapter to route it."

I don't get it SilentRage.

as for the hardware router..I just posted before (i'm in africa) ..no way I'm gonna find a router :-(
except for my isp's one lol

#15315 - 04/23/02 12:30 PM Re: Making a router  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage  Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
Don't worry about what I said about hooking the adaptor. If sygate does what you want, then it will do all that low-level work automatically and you won't need to know a thing about it.

For pure interest's sake, I guess I'll explain hooking - even if you may never use this information:

Normal Behavior:
Data gets passed from your cable line to your ethernet card. Then it is passed to your ethernet adapter, then to the operating system, then to the relevent program.

When you "hook" something, you insert yourself into the chain of events so that it would be like this:

Data gets passed from your cable line to your ethernet card. Then it is passed to your ethernet adapter, then it is passed to the hooking program, then the program may CHOOSE to pass it to the operating system, which will then be passed to the relevent program.

So by hooking into the chain of events, you may log or even filter the pass-thru data.

This is how software firewalls block connectivity.


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net
Sponsored Links
#15316 - 04/23/02 07:36 PM Re: Making a router  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 119
Soap Offline
Member
Soap  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 119
AfriKA
right, so essentially this could be done coding my own firewall...
and apparently, that's been done (says gizmo).

k i'll check that sygate thanx. BTW SilentRage Africa's will, i'm still on 56K :-(

#15317 - 04/23/02 09:36 PM Re: Making a router  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
SilentRage Offline
DollarDNS Owner
SilentRage  Offline
DollarDNS Owner

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,273
OH, USA
Well, there's dial-up adapters too.

Data moves much the same way:
Internet -> Modem -> Adapter -> OS -> Program


Domain Registration, Hosting, Management
http://www.dollardns.net

Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics46,798
Posts81,968
Average Daily Posts11
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,962
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)