Your browser does not seem to support CSS. If images appear below, please disregard them.
It appears that you're running an Ad-Blocker. This site is monetized by Advertising and by User Donations; we ask that if you find this site helpful that you whitelist us in your Ad-Blocker, or make a Donation to help aid in operating costs.
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#16830 - 11/03/04 11:02 PM Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
If I am in the command line interface how do I start running a GUI like KDE or GNOME?

And any advice on how to get the GUI to fill up the screen on my laptop (Toshiba Sattelite 5005-S507, NVidia GeForce 4 440 To Go, Mandrake 10.0)

I tried the help on the wbsite but being new at this It's a bit complicated, I need serious Barney Style.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
Sponsored Links
#16831 - 11/04/04 12:43 AM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Gremelin Offline
Community Owner
Gremelin  Offline

Community Owner

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,195
Likes: 3
Portland, OR; USA
start x, startx


Donate to UGN Security here.
UGN Security, Back of the Web, and VNC Web Services Owner
#16832 - 11/04/04 02:39 AM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
startx but that will only work if you have your Xserver configured properly.

To configure your Xserver, either Xorg or XFree86, use on of the following(listed from favorite to least):

Xorgcfg -textmode
Xorgconfig
nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf (pico or vi would also work)
Xorgcfg

ALl of those also work replacing Xorg with XF86 if that is your choice of Xservers.


Things you need to know before you start:
1)The horizontal and vertial frequency of your monitor.
2)What driver your video card uses. Oh i just saw you use nvidia drivers. I guess you want 3D acceleration for them. That is a whole different topic....
3)The keyboard, mouse, and other sections should be pretty self explanitory.

#16833 - 11/04/04 06:21 AM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
I don't need 3d acceleration as I am dual booting and not planning on any intense graphics on the Linux partition. Is there any other reason to have 3d acceleration besides gaming?


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#16834 - 11/04/04 09:08 PM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
yep, The next gen desktop enviroments will be 3D for better use of desktop realestate. See link

http://www.linuxplanet.com/linuxplanet/reports/5303/1/

Somewhere out there there is a video demo too


My New site OpenEyes
Sponsored Links
#16835 - 11/04/04 09:45 PM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
Couldn't get the demo but I saw the screenshots, that is awesome.

Ok I downloaded the Nvidia driver but have no idea how to install it. Also I can only see one refresh rate (60hz). Thanks for all the help.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#16836 - 11/05/04 12:26 AM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
§intå× Offline
§intå×  Offline



Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,255
Likes: 1
Maryland
Nvidia ia but simple to install. One driver for all cards. They have gone to great lengths to simplify this process. Their site should be helpful to you.


My New site OpenEyes
#16837 - 11/05/04 06:16 PM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
Why would you want 3D acceleration on linux??? So you can say "I have 3D accerleration on linux goddamnit@!" I have 3D acceleration on my laptop...I only get like 500 fps with glxgears (a nvidia card should get like 2000 or more), but who cares.

Yeah nvidia drivers are easy. radeon's are hell.

There are deffinately two different refresh rates for every monitor even LCDs. One is vertical one is horizontal.

#16838 - 11/06/04 02:40 AM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
I f-----g can not believe how f-----g stupid I was being the answer was in front of my face everytime i went to nvidia but I didn't f-----g just stared at it not realizing what it was. What was it you ask......it was the Install how to. step by freaking step. I feel stupid.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#16839 - 11/06/04 03:41 AM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
SO now I realize i don't have the kernal source which the driver needs to do whatevr, and when i go to install the package it says insert disc 4, the freee version only comes with 3 dics, i need to buy the full version for those options, lol, what a pain. But i am learning A LOT.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
Sponsored Links
#16840 - 11/06/04 04:51 PM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
ok that is simple. find out what kernel version you are running and download the source from http://www.kernel.org
What version of what distro are you running? I will tell you what kernel source you need. but if your gunna do all that I would just suggest downloading the latest 2.6 kernel and compile it yourself.

Usually that last disc contains all the source code plus some programs that actually have liscensing you would have to buy.

#16841 - 11/06/04 08:00 PM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
I am running Mandrake 10.0 I didn't know what distro to go with so I just grabbed this one. AS far as compiling the kernal myself, that sounds a little advanced for someone who can nareely get a graphics driver installed.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#16842 - 11/07/04 04:46 AM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,146
Ice Offline
UGN News Staff
Ice  Offline
UGN News Staff

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,146
Likes: 1
Canada
With mandrake it should be pretty easy, isnt there RMP's you can download ? That install and configure it all for you ?


Good artists copy, great artists
steal.

-Picasso
#16843 - 11/07/04 11:07 AM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
Yes there are but what I'm having problems with is learning all the correct bash commands and instructions. I try to makefile and get No rule to make target messages, so i'm reserching that atm.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#16844 - 11/07/04 09:34 PM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
Spyrios Offline
UGN Member
Spyrios  Offline
UGN Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 419
VA
Here's what I found: GNU Make

I posted the link to maybe help some other newb out.


D, world destruction
Over and overture
N, do I need
Apostrophe T, need this torture?-They Might Be Giants
#16845 - 11/08/04 02:07 PM Re: Quick Questions  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
sinetific Offline
nobody
sinetific  Offline
nobody

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 815
Ann Arbor
you need to be in the same directory as the file your trying to make. That is the only reason you would get that error. Kernel compilation is soooo much easier than you would ever imagine.

anyways inorder to compile something:

./configure (if nothing to configure skip to step 2)
make
make install (as root. Will place the libs and files in the correct directories so your system can find them.)


Member Spotlight
Gremelin
Gremelin
Portland, OR; USA
Posts: 7,195
Joined: February 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics46,767
Posts81,937
Average Daily Posts10
Members2,159
Most Online1,567
Apr 25th, 2010
Latest Postings
Top Posters(All Time)
UGN Security 39,931
Gremelin 7,195
§intå× 3,255
SilentRage 1,273
Ice 1,146
pergesu 1,136
Infinite 1,041
jonconley 955
Girlie 908
unreal 860
Top Liked Users (All Time)
§intå× Likes: 1
Cold Sunn Likes: 1
Crime Likes: 1
Cyrez Likes: 1
Ghost Likes: 1
Gremelin Likes: 4
Ice Likes: 1
unreal Likes: 1
Top Liked Users (30 Days)
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
(Snapshot build 20160902)